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RULE 500 
 
1 PERMIT TO OPERATE:  Each applicant for a permit required by Regulation IV 

of these Rules and Regulations shall pay the Permit to Operate annual permit fee of 
$75.00 and pay an additional renewal fee and toxic fee, as specified in Table I of this 
Rule, on an annual basis due by the permit anniversary date for each permit issued by 
permit category.  These fees are based on the estimated cost of issuance, services 
rendered, surveillance, evaluation and inspections pertaining to such permits.  All 
fees collected shall be deposited in the Butte County Air Quality Management 
District’s (DISTRICT) Account. 

 
1.1 Limitation to Permit to Operate Fees 

1.1.1 Notwithstanding the above, fees assessed herein shall not result in 
an increase, on an annual basis, more than allowed by the California 
Health and Safety Code.  

1.1.2 If the permit holder certifies in writing that the permitted equipment 
was not operated during the previous calendar year, the toxic fee 
shall not be assessed, and the renewal fee shall be assessed at 50% 
of the amount determined from Table I. 

1.1.3 If the permit holder certifies in writing that the permitted equipment 
does not result in the release of a toxic air contaminant, as 
determined by the California Air Resources Board (CARB), or a 
hazardous air pollutant, as determined by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the toxic fee from Table I 
shall not be assessed. 

 
2 AUTHORITY TO CONSTRUCT: Each applicant for an Authority to Construct 

permit shall pay an application filing fee of $75.00 due at the time the application is 
filed.  In addition, an authority to construct fee and toxic fee shall be due and payable 
at the time of permit issuance as determined from Table I.  All fees collected shall be 
deposited in the DISTRICT’s Account. 

 
2.1 Limitation to Authority to Construct Fees 

2.1.1 Notwithstanding the fees specified in Table I, if the actual costs of 
processing an Authority to Construct permit application 
substantially differ from the fees assessed pursuant to this Section, 
the applicant may be assessed the actual costs, as determined by the 
Air Pollution Control Officer.  

2.1.2 Notwithstanding the fees specified in Table I, modifications to less 
than 50% of the existing facility capacity shall be assessed an 
authority to construct and toxic fee at 50% of the values listed. 

2.1.3 If the permit holder certifies in writing that the permitted equipment 
does not result in the release of a toxic air contaminant, as 
determined by CARB, or a hazardous air pollutant, as determined by 
EPA, the toxic fee from Table I shall not be assessed. 
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3 TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP:  Each applicant for a permit Transfer of 
Ownership shall pay a fee of $60.00 to cover the administrative costs of transferring 
the permit to the new owner. 

 
4 PERMIT ISSUED BY HEARING BOARD:  A Permit to Operate or Authority to 

Construct permit issued by the DISTRICT Hearing Board shall be subject to the fees 
pursuant to this Rule. 

 
5  INDEMNIFICATION:  Each applicant for, and recipient of, an Authority to 

Construct Permit or Permit to Operate agrees to indemnify, defend and hold the 
DISTRICT (including its Board Members, officers, directors, managers, employees 
and agents) harmless and free and clear from and against any liability, debt, 
obligation, claim, judgment, action, cause of action or cost or expense, of any amount 
or nature whatsoever incurred by or imposed upon the DISTRICT arising out of, as a 
result of, related to or in any way in connection with the denial, issuance, 
modification or renewal of a permit, including a permit by the Hearing Board. Such 
costs or expenses shall include, but not be limited to, reasonable attorney’s fees, 
expert witness fees and all other litigation expenses. 

 
Table  1 

 
PERMIT CATEGORY Renewal 

Fee 
(Fee/Unit) 

Toxic Fee 
(Fee/Unit) 

A/C 
Fee 

Abrasive Blasting:    
a. Confined 1x 0 2x 
b. Unconfined 4x 0 8x 

Adhesives and Sealants, Graphic Arts, and Printing:    
a. 50 gallons per year or less 3x 1x 6x 
b. Greater than 50 but less than or equal to 200 gallons per year 4x 1x 8x 
c. Greater than 200 gallons per year 5x 2x 10x 

Asphalt Concrete Plant    
a. 100,000 tons per year or less 3x 1x 6x 
b. Greater than 100,000 but less than or equal to 250,000    

tons per year 4x 2x 8x 
c. Greater than 250,000 tons per year 5x 2x 10x 

Cabinet Shops 3x 1x 6x 
Cement Handling Equipment 3x 0 6x 
Chemical Manufacturing Process Unit 4x 0 8x 
Concrete Batch Plants    

a. 10,000 yd3 per year or less 3x 0 6x 
b. Greater than 10,000 but less than or equal to 25,000 yd3    

per year 4x 0 8x 
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PERMIT CATEGORY Renewal 
Fee 

(Fee/Unit) 

Toxic Fee 
(Fee/Unit) 

A/C 
Fee 

c. Greater than 25,000 yd3 per year 5x 0 10x 
Confined Animal Facilities 10x 2x 20x 
Degreasers    

a. Vapor 3x 1x 6x 
b. Solvent 2x 1x 5x 

Drycleaning Operations    
a. Perchloroethylene 2x 2x 3x 
b. Petroleum-Based Solvents (Multiple Machines) 2x 0 3x 

Dryer/Kiln 2x 0 4x 
Electrolytic Plating Operations 5x 3x 10x 
Ethylene Oxide Sterilizers 4x 3x 8x 
External Combustion Devices, power:    

a. 5 million British thermal units per hour (mmBTU/hr) or less 3x 0 6x 
b. Greater than 5 mmBTU/hr but less than or equal to    

10 mmBTU/hr 4x 2x 8x 
c. Greater than 10 mmBTU/hr 5x 3x 10x 

Feed and Grain Facilities 4x 0 10x 
Fiberglass and Polyester Resin Products Manufacturing 4x 2x 8x 
Fiberboard Manufacturing 20x 5x 40x 
Fluid Evaporator 2x 0 4x 
Gasoline Dispensing Facility and associated vapor recovery system 

(Non Retail) 1x 0 2x 
Gasoline Dispensing Facility, loading rack and associated vapor    

recovery system(s) – Bulk Plant 4x 2x 8x 
Gasoline Storage, loading rack and associated vapor recovery    
     system(s) - Bulk Terminal 10x 5x 20x 
Gasoline Storage Facility and associated vapor recovery system     
     (Retail and Consumer Account) 1x  2x 3x 
Gasoline Dispensing Phase II Vapor Recovery Nozzle 0.4x 0 0.4x 
Incinerators:    
     a.  Pathological Waste 4x 2x 8x 
     b.  Crematory 4x 0 8x 
     c.  Other 4x 2x 8x 
Internal Combustion Engine – Diesel-Fueled    
     a.  First Prime Emissions Unit 4x  2x 8x 
     b.  Each Additional Prime Emissions Unit 3x  2x 6x 
     c.  Emergency Backup Generator 1x 1x 2x 
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PERMIT CATEGORY Renewal 
Fee 

(Fee/Unit) 

Toxic Fee 
(Fee/Unit) 

A/C 
Fee 

Internal Combustion Engine – Natural Gas or LPG-Fired    
     a.  First Prime Emissions Unit 4x 0 8x 
     b.  Each Additional Prime Emissions Unit 3x 0 6x 
     c.   Emergency Backup Generator 1x 0 2x 
Malt Beverage Production 5x 0 10x 
Metal Melting Crucibles 3x 0 6x 
Miscellaneous: 5x 0 10x 

a. Potential to Emit Less than 2 TPY 1x 1x 2x 
b. Potential to Emit Equal to 2 TPY to Less than 5 TPY 2x 1x 4x 
c. Potential to Emit Equal to or Greater than 5 TPY 4x 2x 8x 

Motor Vehicle and Mobile Equipment Coating    
    a.  First Spray Paint Booth (including prep station and heater) 3x  2x 4x 

b.  Each Additional Spray Paint Booth (including prep station        
and heater) 1x  0 4x 

Municipal Waste Landfill 5x 2x 10x 
Non-Metallic Mineral Processing Operations (in terms of the 

annual production rate)    
a. 10,000 tons per year or less 5x 0 9x 
b. Greater than 10,000 but less than or equal to 100,000 tons per 

year 7x 0 13x 
c. Greater than 100,000 tons per year 9x 0 17x 

Nut Processing Operations    
     a.  Cleaning, Hulling/Shelling and Drying 4x 0 6x 
     b.  Sorting and Packaging 3x 0 5x 
Oily Water Treatment Systems 3x 0 6x 
Paint Formulation Facility 4x 0 8x 
Paint Bake Oven 3x 0 6x 
Public and Private Waste Water Treatment Works 5x 2x 10x 
Reclaiming Furnace 3x 2x 6x 
Rendering Plant 3x 0 6x 
Rice Drying and Milling Operations 6x 0 6x 
Rice Storage Operations 2x 0 4x 
Soil Remediation - Aeration N/A 1x 3x 
Soil and Groundwater Remediation Process Unit 4x 2x 8x 
Storage Tank – Petroleum – Fixed or Internal Floating Roof 3x 1x 6x 
Storage Tank – Petroleum – External Floating Roof 4x 1x 8x 
Storage Tank – Organic Liquid 3x 0 6x 
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PERMIT CATEGORY Renewal 
Fee 

(Fee/Unit) 

Toxic Fee 
(Fee/Unit) 

A/C 
Fee 

Surface Coating Operations    
    a.  First Spray Paint Booth (including prep booth and heater) 3x 0 4x 
    b.  Each Additional Spray Paint Booth (including heater) 1x 0 4x 
    c.  Powdercoating Operations (including blasting/prep booth and    

curing oven) 3x 0 4x 
Underground Petroleum Storage Tank Purge and Excavation N/A 0 4x 
Underground Petroleum Storage Tank Purge and Relining N/A 0 4x 
Wood Products Manufacturing 3x 1x 6x 
Wood Sawing and Milling Operations 5x 0 10x 
Wood Treatment Dip Tank 3x 0 6x 
Wood Pressure Treatment Operations 10x 4x 20x 

 
*Where x is the hourly labor rate set forth in Rule 509   
A/C = Authority to Construct Permit   
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