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(A) General 

(1) Purpose 

(a) The purpose of this rule is to limit the emissions of oxides of nitrogen 
(NOX), carbon monoxide (CO), volatile organic compounds (VOCs), and 
oxides of sulfur (SOX) from glass melting furnaces.   

(2) Applicability 

(a) This rule shall apply to any glass melting furnace.   

(3) Exemptions 

The provisions of this rule shall not apply to: 

(a) Except for section (D)(2)(a), the provisions of this rule shall not apply to 
electric glass melting furnaces where all the heat is supplied by an electric 
current from electrodes submerged in the molten glass, except that other 
fuels for startup may supply heat when the furnace contains no molten 
glass.   

(b) Except for section (D)(2)(a), the provisions of this rule shall not apply to 
any glass melting furnace that is designed to produce less than 4.55 Mg 
(5 tons) of glass per day.   

(c) The provisions of this rule shall not apply to hand glass melting furnaces.   

(d) The emission limits in Section (C)(1) Table 1 shall not apply during 
periods of startup, shutdown, or idling, provided the owner/operator 
complies with the applicable requirements of Section (C)(3), (C)(4), 
(C)(5), and (E)(3).   

(B) Definitions 

For the purpose of this rule the following definitions shall apply: 

(1) Air-Fuel Firing – Operation of a glass melting furnace where greater than 50 
percent of the oxidant for the fuel comes from ambient air.  100 percent air-fuel 
fired means operation of a glass melting furnace where the oxidant is exclusively 
ambient air.   
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(2) Block 24-hour Average – The arithmetic average of the hourly NOX emission 
rates of a furnace as measured over 24 one-hour periods, daily, from 12:00 a.m. to 
11:59 p.m., excluding periods of system calibration.   

(3) California Air Resources Board (CARB) – The California Air Resources Board, 
the powers and duties of which are described in Part 2 of Division 26 of the 
California Health & Safety Code (commencing with section 39500).   

(4) Container Glass – Any glass manufactured by pressing, blowing in molds, 
drawing, rolling, or casting which is used as a container as listed in Standard 
Industrial Classification 3221 (SIC 3221).   

(5) Fiberglass – Material consisting of fine filaments of glass that are combined in 
yarn and woven or spun into fabrics, or that are used as reinforcement in other 
materials or in masses as thermal or acoustical insulating products for the 
construction industry.   

(6) Flat Glass – Any continuous flat glass sheets produced by the float, sheet, rolled, 
or plate glass process, which is used in windows, windshields, tabletops, or similar 
products listed in SIC 3211.   

(7) Furnace Rebuild – A cold repair that is commenced after the end of a furnace 
campaign period or expected life cycle of a furnace.   

(8) Glass Melting Furnace – A unit comprising a refractory vessel in which raw 
materials are charged, melted at high temperature, refined, and conditioned to 
produce molten glass.  The unit includes foundations, superstructures and 
retaining walls, raw material charger systems, heat exchangers, melter cooling 
system, exhaust system, refractory brick work, fuel supply and electrical boosting 
equipment, integral control systems and instrumentation, and appendages for 
conditioning and distributing molten glass to forming apparatuses.  The forming 
apparatuses, including the float bath used in flat glass manufacturing and flow 
channels in fiberglass manufacturing, are not considered part of the glass melting 
furnace.   

(9) Hand Glass Melting Furnace – A glass melting furnace where the molten glass is 
removed from the furnace by a glassworker using a blowpipe or a pontil.   

(10) Idling – The operation of a furnace at less than 25 percent of the permitted glass 
production capacity or fuel use capacity as stated on the District permit.   

(11) Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) –A general term for any of the following gasses:  
commercial propane, commercial butane, propane-butane (PB) mixtures, and 
special duty propane.   

(12) Oxygen-Assisted Combustion – Operation of a glass melting furnace where the 
oxidant is greater than the oxygen content in the ambient air or greater than 20.9 
percent oxygen.   
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(13) Oxy-Fuel Fired – Operation of a glass melting furnace where greater than 50 
percent of the oxidant for the fuel is provided from enriched oxygen streams.   

(14) Permitted Glass Production Capacity – The maximum pull rate as stated in the 
District permit.   

(15) Primary Furnace Combustion System – The burners in a furnace that are used 
during the production of glass.   

(16) PUC-Quality Natural Gas – A gaseous fuel that meets the requirements specified 
in California Public Utilities Commission (PUC) General Order 58-A.  PUC-
quality natural gas also means that the sulfur content is no more than one-fourth 
grain of hydrogen sulfide per 100 standard cubic feet and no more than five grains 
total sulfur per 100 standard cubic feet.   

(17) Pull Rate – The amount of glass coming out of a glass melting furnace, expressed 
in short tons per day.   

(18) Rolling 30-day Average – The arithmetic average of the daily emission rates of a 
furnace over a contiguous 30-day period, excluding periods of system calibration.   

(19) Shutdown – The period of time during which a glass melting furnace is taken from 
operational to non-operational status by allowing it to cool down from its 
operating temperature to a cold or ambient temperature as the fuel supply is turned 
off.   

(20) Startup – The period of time, after initial construction or a furnace rebuild, during 
which a glass melting furnace is heated to operating temperature by the primary 
furnace combustion system, and systems and instrumentation are brought to 
stabilization.   

(21) United States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) – The United States 
Environmental Protection Agency, the Administrator of the USEPA and his or her 
authorized representative.   

(22) Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) – Any volatile compound of carbon, 
excluding methane, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, carbonic acid, metallic 
carbides or carbonates, ammonium carbonate, and those compounds listed in 40 
CFR 51.100(s)(1).   

(C) Requirements 

(1) Except as specified in section (A)(3)(d), the owner/operator of any glass melting 
furnace shall not operate a furnace in such a manner that results in NOX, CO, or 
VOC emissions exceeding the limits in Table 1.   
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Table 1 
NOX, CO, and VOC Emission Limits 

Type of Furnace Combustion 
Type NOX CO VOC 

100% Air-
Fuel Fired 

4.0 lb/ton of glass pulled on 
a block 24-hour average 300 ppmv 20 ppmv 

Container Glass or 
Fiberglass 

Oxygen 
Assisted 

Combustion 

4.0 lb/ton of glass pulled on 
a block 24-hour average 

1.0 lb/ton of 
glass pulled 

0.25 lb/ton of 
glass pulled 

100% Air-
Fuel Fired 

9.2 lb/ton of glass pulled on 
a block 24 hour average 

and 
7.0 lb/ton of glass pulled on 

a rolling 30-day average 

300 ppmv 20 ppmv 

Flat Glass 

Oxygen 
Assisted 

Combustion 

9.2 lb/ton of glass pulled on 
a block 24 hour average 

and 
7.0 lb/ton of glass pulled on 

a rolling 30-day average 

0.9 lb/ton of 
glass pulled 

0.1 lb/ton of 
glass pulled 

(2) All glass melting furnaces subject to Table 1 emission limits shall limit SOX by:   

(a) Firing PUC-quality natural gas, propane, or LPG. 

(b) Liquid fuel may be used as a backup fuel or standby fuel provided the 
liquid fuel contains no more than 15 ppm sulfur and the furnace exhaust is 
controlled by a SOX emission control system with a control efficiency of 
50 percent or greater.   

(3) Startup Requirements   

(a) The owner/operator shall submit a request for a startup exemption to the 
APCO, CARB, and the USEPA in conjunction with or in advance of an 
application for Authority to Construct (ATC) associated with a furnace 
rebuild.   

(b) The owner/operator shall submit to the APCO, CARB, and the USEPA 
any information deemed necessary by the APCO, CARB, or the USEPA 
to determine the appropriate length of startup exemption.  This 
information shall include, but is not limited to:   
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(i) A detailed list of activities to be performed during startup, and a 
reasonable explanation for the length of time needed to complete 
each activity; and 

(ii) A description of the material process flow rates, system operating 
parameters, etc., that the owner/operator plans to evaluate during 
the process of optimization; and 

(iii) Clearly identified control technologies or strategies to be 
employed; and 

(iv) Explicit description of what physical conditions prevail during 
startup periods that prevent the controls from being effective; and 

(v) Reasonably precise estimate as to when physical conditions will 
have reached a state that allows for the effective control of 
emissions. 

(c) Startup exemptions shall begin upon activation of the primary combustion 
system.   

(d) The actual length of the startup exemption shall be determined by the 
APCO, CARB and USEPA at the time of the Authority to Construct 
(ATC) issuance, but in any case, it shall not exceed the amount of time 
specified in Table 2.  The approval for the startup exemption shall be in 
writing from each agency.   

Table 2 
Maximum Startup Time 

Column I Column II 

Type of Furnace Maximum Startup 
NOX control system 
that meets section 

(C)(3)(d)(i) provisions 

Maximum Startup 
NOX control system 
that does not meet 
section (C)(3)(d)(i) 

provisions 

Container glass 100 days 70 days 

Fiber glass 105 days 40 days 

Flat glass 208 days 104 days 

(i) Maximum startup time for Table 2, Column I, must have a NOX 
control system that meets one or more of the following conditions: 

a. Is innovative, 
b. Is not in common use, 
c. Is not readily available from a commercial supplier, 
d. Is funded as original research by a public agency. 
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(ii) Maximum startup time for those furnaces with NOX controls that 
do not meet any of the conditions in section (C)(3)(d)(i) shall 
comply with startup times in Table 2, Column II. 

(e) During the startup period, the stoichiometric ratio of the primary furnace 
combustion system shall not exceed five percent excess oxygen, as 
calculated from the actual fuel and oxidant flow measurements for 
combustion in the glass melting furnace. 

(f) The emission control system shall be in operation as soon as 
technologically feasible during startup to minimize emissions. 

(g) Notifications shall be performed and records shall be kept in accordance 
with section (D)(2). 

(4) Shutdown Requirements   

(a) The duration of shutdown, as measured from the time the furnace 
operations drop below the idle threshold as specified in section (B)(10) to 
when all emissions from the furnace cease, shall not exceed 20 days.   

(i) The emission control system shall be in operation whenever 
technologically feasible during shutdown to minimize emissions. 

(ii) Notifications shall be performed and records kept in accordance 
with section (D)(2). 

(5) Idling Requirements   

(a) The emission control system shall be in operation whenever 
technologically feasible during idling to minimize emissions. 

(b) The NOX, CO, and VOC emission during idling shall not exceed the 
amount calculated by multiplying the applicable emission limit of NOX, 
VOC, or CO in pounds per ton of glass produced by the furnace permitted 
production capacity in tons of glass produced per day.   

(c) Notifications shall be performed and records kept in accordance with 
section (D)(2). 

(6) Compliance Determination   

(a) The emissions measured for compliance with NOX, CO, and VOC limits 
shall be averaged over a three hour period in accordance with the 
applicable test methods in section (E)(1), or, if a Continuous Emission 
Monitoring System (CEMS) or an alternate emission monitoring method 
is used, the applicable requirements of sections (E)(2)(a) or (E)(2)(b), 
respectively. 
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(b) Any source testing result, CEMS, or alternate emission monitoring 
method averaged value exceeding the applicable emission limits in section 
(C)(1) shall constitute a violation of the rule.  Any rolling 30-day 
averaged value from CEMS or alternate emission monitoring method that 
exceeds the applicable emission limit in (C)(1) shall constitute a violation 
of the rule for each day of the averaged period.   

(7) The owner/operator of any glass melting furnace shall implement a NOX CEMS or 
a NOX alternative emissions monitoring method on each furnace, that is approved 
in writing by the APCO, CARB, and USEPA, and that meets the requirements of 
section  (E)(2).   

(D) Monitoring and Records 

(1) Administrative Requirements   

(a) Permitted Glass Production Capacity and Fuel Use Capacity 

Each permit to operate for a glass melting furnace shall specify a 
maximum daily glass production limit (units of tons of glass pulled per 
day) and maximum furnace heat input limit (MMBtu/hr) consistent with 
compliance with this rule. 

(2) Operations Records   

(a) The owner/operator of any glass melting furnace subject to section (C) or 
claiming exemption under section (A)(3) of this rule shall maintain an 
operating log for each furnace that includes, on a daily basis: 

(i) Total hours of operation;  
(ii) Type of fuel used in each furnace; 
(iii) Quantity of fuel used by each furnace, and the quantity of glass 

pulled by each furnace; 
(iv) NOX emission rate in lb/ton of glass pulled. 

(3) The Owner/Operator shall maintain records of source tests and operating 
parameters established during initial source test, maintenance, repair, and 
malfunction.   

(4) The Owner/Operator shall maintain all records required by this rule for five-years, 
and shall produce those records for inspection by the APCO or his designee upon 
request.   

(5) Compliance Source Testing   

(a) Each glass melting furnace shall be source tested at least once every 
calendar year, but not more than once every 18 months and not sooner 
than every six months to demonstrate compliance with the applicable 
requirements of section (C).   
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(b) Source test conditions shall be representative of normal operations, but 
not less than 60 percent of either the maximum glass production capacity 
or the furnace’s maximum fuel use capacity for each furnace, whichever 
limit is stated in the PTO. 

(c) For source testing performed in accordance with section (D)(5)(a), the 
arithmetic average of three 30-consecutive-minute test runs shall apply.  If 
two of the three runs individually demonstrate emissions above the 
applicable limit, the test cannot be used to demonstrate compliance for the 
furnace, even if the averaged emissions of all three test runs is less than 
the applicable limit. 

(E) Compliance Procedures and Test methods 

(1) Test Methods   

(a) Oxides of Nitrogen – EPA Method 7E, EPA Method 19, or CARB 
Method 100. 

(b) Carbon monoxide (ppmv) – EPA Method 10, or CARB Method 100 

(c) Volatile Organic Compound (ppmv) – EPA Method 25A expressed in 
terms of carbon.  EPA Test Method 18 or CARB Method 422 shall be 
used to determine emissions of exempt compounds. 

(d) Stack gas oxygen, carbon dioxide, excess air, and dry molecular weight – 
EPA Method 3 or 3A, or CARB Method 100. 

(e) Stack gas velocity and volumetric flow rate – EPA Method 2. 

(f) The SOX emission control system efficiency shall be determined using the 
following: 

(i) EPA Method 2 for measuring flow rates; and 
(ii) EPA Method 6C or EPA Method 8 for measuring total SOX 

(expressed as SO2) concentrations at the inlet and outlet of the 
control device. 

(g) Alternative Test Methods 

(i) Other test methods demonstrated to provide results that are 
acceptable for purposes of determining compliance with any 
provisions of this rule may also be used after review and approval 
in writing by the District, CARB and USEPA. 

(2) Emissions Monitoring Systems   

(a) An approved CEMS shall comply with the most recently adopted version 
of all of the following requirements: 
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(i) 40 CFR Part 51; 
(ii) 40 CFR Part 60.7; 
(iii) 40 CFR Part 60.13; 
(iv) 40 CFR Part 60 Appendix B (Performance specifications); 
(v) 40 CFR Part 60 Appendix F (Quality Assurance Procedures; and 

(b) Any approved alternate emission monitoring method pursuant to the 
provisions of (E)(2)(a) above shall be capable of determining the furnace 
emissions on an hourly basis and shall comply with the following 
requirements: 

(i) 40 CFR 64 (Compliance Assurance Monitoring); and   
(ii) 40 CFR 60.13 (Monitoring Requirements). 

(3) Notifications and Records for Startup, Shutdown, and Idling   

(a) The owner/operator of any glass melting furnace claiming an exemption 
under section (A)(3)(c) shall notify the APCO by telephone at least 24 
hours before initiating idling, shutdown, or startup.  This notification shall 
include: 

(i) Date and time of the start of the exempt operation; and 
(ii) Reason for performing the operation; and 
(iii) An estimated completion date. 

(b) The owner/operator shall notify the APCO by telephone within 24 hours 
after completion of the idling, shutdown, or startup. 

(c) The owner/operator claiming exemption under section (A)(3)(d) shall 
maintain all operating records and support documentation necessary to 
support claim of exemption, and shall meet the following requirements: 

(i) The records and support documentation shall be retained on-site 
for five years; and 

(ii) The records and support documentation shall be made available to 
the APCO, CARB, or USEPA during normal business hours; and 

(iii) The records and support documentation shall be submitted to the 
APCO, CARB, or USEPA upon request. 

(4) Records for Exempt Furnaces   

(a) An owner/operator claiming exemption under section (A)(3)(a) or section 
(A)(3)(b) shall maintain records and documentation necessary to support 
claim of exemption. 

(b) Records and support documentation specified in section (E)(4)(a) shall 
meet the following requirements: 

(i) The records and support documentation shall be retained on-site 
for five years; and 
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(ii) The records and support documentation shall be made available to 
the APCO, CARB, or USEPA during normal business hours; and 

(iii) The records and support documentation shall be submitted to the 
APCO, CARB, or USEPA upon request. 

(5) Calculation Methods   

(a) The pollutant emission rate in ppmv shall be converted to lb/hr by using 
the appropriate conversion equations in ARB Method 100, EPA Method 
19, or an equivalent conversion method approved, in writing, by the 
APCO, CARB, and the USEPA.  The mass emission rate in lb/hr shall be 
converted to lb/ton of glass pulled according to the following equation:  

in tons/hr rate pull
pollutant oflb/hr pulled glass ofton pollutant of lbs =  

(b) 100 percent air-fuel fired furnaces that have concentration limits in ppmv 
values shall be subject to the CO and VOC emission limits specified in 
section (C)(1).  These limits are referenced at dry stack gas conditions and 
8.0 percent by volume of stack oxygen.  The CO and VOC emission 
concentrations shall be corrected to 8.0 percent oxygen by using the 
equation below, or an equivalent correction method that is approved, in 
writing, by the APCO, CARB, and the USEPA. 

( ) ( ) ( )CO ppmvx
O%%9.20
%9.12CO ppmv measured

measured
corrected

2−
=  

( ) ( ) ( )VOC ppmvx
O%%9.20
%9.12VOC ppmv measured

measured
corrected

2−
=  

(c) The owner/operator of a oxy-fuel fired furnace, oxygen-assisted 
combustion furnace, or a furnace utilizing any fuel oxidants other than 
100 percent ambient air, shall submit to the APCO, CARB, and USEPA 
for approval any methodologies and data that will be used to calculate 
emission rates for NOX, CO, and VOC if the methods are different than 
specified in section (E)(5)(a) or (E)(5)(b).  Unless the owner/operator 
received prior written approval from the APCO, CARB, and USEPA of 
all the calculation methods to be used that are different than specified in 
(E)(5)(a) or (E)(5)(b), compliance with the emission limits cannot be fully 
demonstrated, and it shall be deemed to be a violation of this rule. 

(F) Violations   

(1) Failure to comply with any provision of this rule shall constitute a violation of the 
rule. 

(2) A violation of the limits contained in this rule as determined by any one of these 
test methods shall constitute a violation of this rule. 
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(3) When one or more test method or set of test methods are specified for any testing, 
a violation of any requirement of this rule established by any one of the specified 
test methods or set of test methods shall constitute a violation of the rule. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[SIP: Submitted as amended 08/25/08 on mm/dd/yy] 
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