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Frequently Asked questions

New Regulation for Small Containers  
of Automotive Refrigerant - Use and Sale
Reducing climate change emissions from do-it-yourself automobile A/C re-charging

The California Air Resources Board (ARB) has adopted a regulation to reduce refrigerant emissions 
from the do-it-yourself servicing of motor vehicle air conditioners (MVAC) such as those in cars 
and pickup trucks. This regulation became law in the state of California on October 1, 2009.

What is the purpose of this regulation?

The purpose of the regulation is to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases (GHG). the current 
automotive refrigerant (R-134a) is a highly potent GHG. The global warming potential (GWP) of the 
refrigerant in a single 12-ounce container is equivalent to the carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions from 
a typical California automobile driven over 1,000 miles. The regulation helps prevent unnecessary 
releases of the refrigerant to the atmosphere and applies to automotive refrigerants with a GWP 
value greater than 150. It applies to containers holding more than two ounces and less than two 
pounds of refrigerant by weight.

Who must comply with the regulation?

This regulation affects retailers who sell the product, and companies that package, distribute,  
or market the small cans of refrigerant, and the consumers who recharge MVAC systems using  
this product.

What does the regulation require?

The regulation has four requirements:

•	 Use of a self-sealing valve on all containers,

•	 Improved labeling instructions,

•	 A recycling program for used containers, and

•	 An education program that emphasizes best practices for vehicle recharging. 

In order to certify products for sale in California, manufacturers will submit an application to  
ARB including information that shows their products meet these requirements.

Self-sealing Valve and Improved Labeling

Manufacturers and packagers must install a self-sealing valve on all small containers subject  
to this regulation to prevent refrigerant from venting to the atmosphere. They must also use 
improved labeling on small containers, including improved instructions for use, and a statement 
that it is illegal to destroy or discard the container or its contents.

Recycling Program

The recycling program involves consumers, retailers, and manufacturers. A $10 deposit will  
be required for each container of automotive refrigerant at the time of purchase. Containers are 
required to be returned within 90 days with a valid, retailer’s proof of purchase for refund of the 
deposit. Retailers collect all used small containers from consumers and return them to the original 
manufacturer for recycling. Manufacturers then recover any refrigerant remaining  
in the container and recycle the can. Manufacturers, distributors, retailers (upon ARB request), 
and recyclers must report to ARB sales data, the number of returned containers, and the amount 
of refrigerant recycled annually. The consumer deposit is adjustable and can be raised or lowered 
depending on whether the container recycling rates fails to meet or exceeds certain targets 
respectively.

Education Program

The education program is administered by manufacturers and producers. It is their responsibility 



to develop educational brochures for distribution to consumers (through retailers) and maintain 
an informative website. The brochures and website must include instructions to identify and repair 
system leaks, best practice techniques for recharging an MVAC system, environmental hazards 
associated with the refrigerant, risks of overcharging or undercharging  
the MVAC, and a description of the recycling program.

When does the regulation take effect?

The regulation took effect January 1, 2010.

What are the consequences of not complying?

Penalties may be assessed for any violation of this regulation pursuant to Health and Safety Code 
section 38580. Each day during any portion of which a violation occurs is a separate offense.

Where can I find more information about the regulation?

The regulation, fact sheets, executive orders for the certified products, and report forms are 
available at www.arb.ca.gov/cc/hfc-mac/hfcdiy/hfcdiy.htm. For further information, contact 
Mr. Winston Potts, P.E., Research Division, ARB at wpotts@arb.ca.gov or phone (916) 323-2537.

To obtain this document in an alternative format or language please contact the ARB’s Helpline  
at (800) 242-4450 or at helpline@arb.ca.gov. TTY/TDD/ Speech to Speech users may dial 711 
for the California Relay Service.
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