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A. INTRODUCTION AND OVERVIEW 
 
 
In 2007, Governor Schwarzenegger signed into law the California Alternative and 
Renewable Fuel, Vehicle Technology, Clean Air, and Carbon Reduction Act of 2007 
(AB 118, Statutes of 2007, Chapter 750). AB 118 created the Air Quality Improvement 
Program (AQIP), a voluntary incentive program administered by the Air Resources 
Board (ARB or Board), to fund clean vehicle and equipment projects, air quality 
research, and workforce training. 

 
As required in Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 44274(a), the Board adopted 
regulatory guidelines in 2009 for AQIP.  The Guidelines for the AB 118 Air Quality 
Improvement Program (Guidelines) define the overall administrative requirements and 
policies and procedures for program implementation based on the framework 
established in statute. Central to the Guidelines is the requirement for a Board- 
approved annual funding plan developed with public input. The funding plan is each 
year’s blueprint for expending AQIP funds appropriated to the ARB in the annual State 
Budget. The funding plan focuses AQIP on supporting development and deployment of 
the advanced technologies needed to meet California’s longer-term, post 2020 air 
quality goals. 

 
In 2012, the legislature passed and Governor Brown signed into law 3 bills – AB 1532 
(Pérez, Chapter 807), Senate Bill (SB) 535 (de León, Chapter 830), and SB 1018 
(Budget and Fiscal Review Committee, Chapter 39) – that established the Greenhouse 
Gas Reduction Fund (GGRF) to receive Cap-and-Trade auction proceeds and to 
provide the framework for how the auction proceeds will be administered to further the 
purposes of AB 32. Cap-and-Trade auction proceeds have been appropriated to the Air 
Resources Board (ARB) for Low Carbon Transportation projects that reduce 
greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, with an emphasis on investments that benefit the 
State’s disadvantaged communities. Per statute these funds must be used to further 
the purposes of Assembly Bill 32 (AB 32; Nunez, Chapter 488, Statutes of 2006). The 
Low Carbon Transportation investments build upon and greatly expand existing 
advanced technology, clean transportation programs, which provide mobile source 
incentives to reduce criteria pollutant, air toxic, and GHG emissions. 

 
In June 2015, ARB approved the Fiscal Year 2015-16 Funding Plan for Low Carbon 
Transportation Investments and Air Quality Improvement Program (FY 2015-16 Funding 
Plan)1, providing up to $163 million in funding for CVRP. The $163 million is comprised 
of up to $3 million in AQIP funding and $160 million in Low Carbon Transportation 
funding from the Greenhouse Gas Reduction Fund (GGRF) for CVRP. 

 
At the time of the June 2015 Board action, the Legislature had appropriated FY 2015-16 
AQIP funds to ARB as part of the Budget Act of 2015, Assembly Bill (AB) 93 (Weber, 
Chapter 10, Statutes of 2015).  However, the Legislature had deferred action on Cap- 

 
1 The approved FY 2015-16 Funding Plan is available at: 
http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aqip/fundplan/fundplan.htm 
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and-Trade auction proceeds, including the $350 million in Low Carbon Transportation 
funds for ARB in the Governor's May Revision Budget proposal.  Hence, the Low 
Carbon Transportation elements of the Board-approved FY 2015-16 Funding Plan were 
contingent on appropriation of these funds. 

 
In September 2015, the Legislature approved an appropriation of $90 million in Low 
Carbon Transportation project funding and associated State operations funding to ARB 
in Senate Bill (SB) 101 (Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review, Chapter 321, 
Statutes of 2015). The Legislature has deferred action on appropriating the remaining 
Cap-and-Trade auction proceeds funding, including any additional Low Carbon 
Transportation funds to ARB, until a later date.  At the October 2015 Board meeting, the 
Board approved $75 million in Low Carbon Transportation project funding for CVRP. 

 
CVRP is intended to encourage and accelerate zero- and near-zero-emission, on-road 
light-duty vehicle deployment and technology innovation.  This project provides rebates 
to qualified individuals, businesses, public agencies and entities, and nonprofit 
organizations for the purchase or lease of eligible vehicles.  CVRP benefits the citizens 
of California by providing immediate air pollution emission reductions while stimulating 
development and deployment of the next generation of zero-emission and plug-in hybrid 
electric light-duty vehicles.  It is administered and implemented through a partnership 
between ARB and a Rebate Administrator (Administrator), selected via a competitive 
ARB grant solicitation. The majority of project funds are for rebates for purchasers or 
lessees of new, eligible on-road vehicles. 

 
The CVRP Terms and Conditions in conjunction with the Air Quality Guidelines, and the 
Funding Plan identify the minimum requirements for implementing CVRP. The 
Implementation Manual for the FY 2015-16 Clean Vehicle Rebate Project 
(Implementation Manual) provides necessary definitions, explanations, and processes 
associated with those minimum requirements.  The Implementation Manual may be 
periodically updated as needed to clarify project requirements and improve project 
effectiveness. The Implementation Manual, including any updates, will be posted on 
ARB’s website at http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aqip/cvrp.htm and on the CVRP 
webpage at cleanvehiclerebate.org. 

 

Note to Applicants: At the time an applicant submits a signed application for a rebate, 
the most current CVRP Implementation Manual available, as well as the Terms and 
Conditions signed by the consumer, will apply. 

 
This document constitutes the Implementation Manual for CVRP for FY 2015-16. 
Definitions of key program parameters are located in Section D of this manual. 

 
1. CVRP Project Overview 

 
 
CVRP enables the purchaser or lessee of an eligible vehicle to receive a rebate of up to 
$6,500 for fuel-cell electric vehicles (FCEVs), up to $4,000 for all-battery electric 
vehicles (BEVs), up to $3,000 for plug-in hybrid electric light-duty vehicles (PHEVs), and 
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up to $900 for zero-emission motorcycles (ZEMs) based on income and contingent 
upon availability of funds.  After the purchaser takes possession of and registers the 
eligible vehicle or, if leased, the lessee has obtained registration on the eligible vehicle, 
they are qualified to apply for the rebate. Applications are available online via the CVRP 
website or by contacting the Administrator directly by email at _____________  or 
calling ______________. 

 

Information about CVRP is available to the public and other interested parties via the 
CVRP website. The CVRP website, cleanvehiclerebate.org, is operated and maintained 
by the Administrator, and includes an up-to-date list of eligible vehicles, rebate amounts 
for each vehicle, online rebate applications, all supporting documentation and forms 
applicable to CVRP, a real-time running total of available funds remaining in the 
program, as well as the amount of rebates approved and issued by vehicle type.  This 
website allows the program to be “user-friendly” while providing project transparency. 

 
Key milestones for CVRP development and implementation for FY 2015-16 are 
identified in Table 1. 

 
Table 1: CVRP Development and Implementation Timeline for FY 2015-16* 
Action Item Date or Time Period 

Selection of Rebate Administrator. October 2015 
Rebate Administrator develops project website 
and conducts outreach. Implementation Manual 
and online application finalized. 

 
 
October 2015 and ongoing 

FY 2015-16 vehicle funding becomes available. 
Online applications available at the CVRP website. 

 
October 2015 

*This timeline may be changed at ARB’s sole discretion. 
 

 
 
B. VEHICLE ELIGIBILITY 

 
 
1. Vehicle Categories 

 
 
This section discusses the categories of vehicles eligible for grant funding under CVRP 
and the specific criteria that a vehicle model must meet to be considered eligible. 
Aftermarket PHEV and BEV conversions are not eligible for CVRP funding. Vehicle 
models will be approved by ARB on a model-year basis and placed on a List of Eligible 
Vehicle Models for rebates.  A continuously updated list of eligible vehicles and rebate 
amounts will be maintained on the designated CVRP website.  Vehicle manufacturers 
must submit a Vehicle Eligibility Application to ARB to have their vehicles considered for 
rebate eligibility.  The vehicle manufacturer is responsible for providing all the required 
documentation described on the application. ARB will coordinate with vehicle 
manufacturers to request any additional documentation needed for eligibility 
determinations. ARB is responsible for providing the Administrator the current List of 
Eligible Vehicle Models and the corresponding rebate amounts. 
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There are four major categories of vehicles eligible for grant funding under CVRP: 
(a) light-duty zero-emission vehicles, (b) light-duty plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, and 
(c) zero-emission motorcycles. 

 
a. Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicles (ZEVs) 

Vehicles in the ZEV category include electric-drive, all-battery electric vehicles 
(BEVs) and fuel-cell electric vehicles (FCEVs) up to 8,500 pounds gross vehicle 
weight rating (GVWR). For the purposes of CVRP, ZEVs are categorized as 
defined in the California Zero-Emission Vehicle Regulation sections 1962 and 
1962.1, Title 13, California Code of Regulations (CCR).  The range-extended 
battery electric vehicle (BEVx) is a regulatory vehicle category that was approved 
by the Board in January 2012 and included as a zero-emission vehicle type for 
CVRP in June 2012 as part of the FY 2012-13 AQIP Funding Plan approval.  In 
the FY 2014-15 Funding Plan, the BEVx continues to be an approved zero- 
emission vehicle type for CVRP. The funding provided by the California Energy 
Commission will be used for Light-Duty Zero-Emission vehicles capable of 
freeway operation and certified for four or more passengers. 

 
b. Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs) 

PHEVs are hybrid electric vehicles that have zero-emission vehicle range 
capability, an on-board electrical energy storage device, and an on-board 
charger, and are rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board 
electrical source.  Rebate-eligible PHEVs include only those meeting Super Ultra 
Low Emission Vehicle (SULEV) tailpipe-emission standards, have a 15-year 
150,000 mile warranty on emission-control components, and have zero 
evaporative emissions from its fuel system. The funding provided by the 
California Energy Commission will be used for Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric 
vehicles capable of freeway operation and certified for four or more passengers. 

 
c. Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs) 

Vehicles in the ZEM category include zero-emission vehicles designed to travel 
on three wheels and two-wheel electric motorcycles meeting the provisions of 
CVC section 400 and the ZEM evaluation procedures. 
 

2. Vehicle Eligibility Criteria 
 
 
Vehicles must meet the following criteria to be eligible for a rebate: 

 
a. Be new: 

With the exception of vehicles described in section 2(a)(i), the vehicle must be a 
new vehicle as defined in CVC section 430.2  The Original Equipment 
Manufacturer (OEM) or its authorized licensee must manufacture the vehicle. 
Vehicles considered new vehicles solely for determination of compliance with 
state emissions standards pursuant to Health and Safety Code, Article 1.5, 
Prohibited Transactions, (sections 43150-43156) and CVC section 4000.2, 
Registration of Out-of-State Vehicles, are not eligible vehicles.  If the vehicle is 
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not new, is pre-owned, has been re-leased, is the subject of a lease assumption 
without prior approval from ARB, or has been transferred into California after 
previously having been registered out-of-state, the vehicle is not eligible for a 
rebate through CVRP. If the required supporting documentation does not 
satisfactorily prove that the vehicle is new, other documentation may be 
requested to satisfy this requirement, at the Administrator’s discretion. 

 
Vehicles previously used as dealership floor models and test drive vehicles are 
eligible for the rebate only if the vehicles have not been previously registered 
with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  The Administrator will 
use specific procedures when processing rebate applications for floor model, test 
drive, unwind and rollback vehicles. 

 
i. Rollback and Unwind Vehicle Provision 

A “rollback” occurs when a buyer purchases or leases a vehicle then returns it 
shortly after purchase, or when a buyer’s financing is disapproved.  An 
“unwind” occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is 
completed, but the sale was not consummated and the buyer never took 
delivery.  Vehicles determined by the Administrator to be unrebated rollback 
or unwind vehicles will be eligible to receive a rebate.  However, additional 
documentation from the dealership may be required. 

 
b. Be ARB approved/certified: 

With the exception of ZEMs, the vehicle model must be certified by ARB as a 
new, zero-emission or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle as defined in the California 
ZEV Regulation, section 1962.1(d)(5)(A), Title 13, CCR for 2009 and subsequent 
model years. The manufacturer must also certify that the vehicle model complies 
with all applicable federal safety standards for new motor vehicles and new motor 
vehicle equipment issued by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA). Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards are found in Title 49 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 571. If a written statement and 
documentation have been previously provided to ARB in the course of applying 
for the ARB certification of the vehicle model, no additional written statement is 
required. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

2 Per section 430 of the California Vehicle Code, a "new vehicle" is a vehicle constructed entirely from 
new parts that have never been the subject of a retail sale, or registered with the California Department of 
Motor Vehicles, or registered with the appropriate agency or authority of any other state, District of 
Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, or foreign State, province, or country. 
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c. Meet prescribed performance, emissions, and service thresholds: 
 

i. PHEVs must meet the Transitional Zero-Emission Vehicle definition in the 
California ZEV Regulation section 1962.2(c) Title 13, CCR, including SULEV, 
evaporative emissions, onboard diagnostics, extended warranty, 
zero-emission Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT), and advanced componentry 
Partial Zero-Emission Electric Vehicle (PZEV) allowance standards as 
defined in section 1962.1(c). 

 
ii. ZEMs must meet the “Zero-Emission Motorcycle” definition in Section D of 

this Implementation Manual, successfully complete the Zero-Emission 
Motorcycle Evaluation Procedure, have sealed batteries (if lead-acid), and be 
covered by a minimum level of after sales service as described below. 

 

a) Successful completion of the Zero-Emission Motorcycle Evaluation 
Procedure means that a recognized third-party vehicle standards 
organization has evaluated ZEM using specific procedures and ARB has 
verified that ZEM meets the specified range and acceleration 
requirements. 

 
b) Each manufacturer must demonstrate to ARB that they have a program to 

offer convenient and time-sensitive warranty and maintenance service to 
the vehicle owner. An acceptable service program will have readily 
available parts, trained service technicians, and the ability to either send a 
technician to an owner’s home, or pick up and transport the vehicle to an 
authorized repair facility. 

 
d. Warranty Provisions 

The vehicle drive train, including applicable energy storage system or a battery 
pack, must be covered by a manufacturer warranty.  Prior to approving a vehicle 
model for addition to the List of Eligible Vehicles, ARB may request that the 
manufacturer provide copies of representative vehicle and battery warranties and 
a description of the manufacturer’s plans to provide warranty and routine vehicle 
service. Warranty provisions must meet the following requirements: 

 
i. ZEVs must have, at a minimum, a warranty of 36 months; the first 12 months 

of the coverage period shall be a full warranty.  If the warranty for the 
remaining 24 months is prorated, the percentage of the battery pack's original 
value to be covered or refunded must be at least as high as the percentage of 
the prorated coverage period still remaining. For the purpose of this 
computation, the age of the battery pack must be expressed in increments no 
larger than three months. 

 
ii. PHEVs must meet the extended warranty requirements applicable to PZEVs 

as described in section 1962.1(c)(2)(D), Title 13, CCR. 
 

iii. ZEMs must have, at a minimum, a warranty of 24 months.  At least four 
months of the first 12 months of the ZEM coverage period shall be a full 
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warranty; the remainder of the first 12 months and all of the second 12 
months of the coverage period may be covered under optional (available for 
purchase) extended warranties and may be prorated. If the extended 
warranty is prorated, the percentage of the battery pack's original value to be 
covered or refunded must be at least as high as the percentage of the 
prorated coverage period still remaining. For the purpose of this computation, 
the age of the battery pack must be expressed in intervals no larger than 
three months.  Alternatively, a manufacturer may cover 50 percent of the 
original value of the battery pack for the full period of the extended warranty. 
 

3. Development of List of Eligible Vehicle Models 
 
 
The CVRP List of Eligible Vehicle Models will be periodically updated as manufacturers 
submit applications and vehicle models are approved.  In order for a vehicle to be 
eligible for a rebate, the vehicle manufacturer must submit to ARB the Vehicle Eligibility 
Application and all supporting documentation. ARB will work with the vehicle 
manufacturer to ensure that all the required documentation is received and request any 
additional information needed to make an eligibility determination.  If the vehicle meets 
the eligibility requirements set forth in Section B(2) of this Implementation Manual, then 
ARB will add the vehicle to the List of Eligible Vehicle Models, calculate the rebate 
amount, and provide the updated list to the Administrator.  New model years of vehicles 
already approved for CVRP eligibility can be rebated prior to the new model year being 
added to the List of Eligible Vehicle Models.  All other new vehicle models purchased 
before being on the List of Eligible Vehicle Models are not rebate eligible. 

 
4. Eligibility Based on Income 
Senate Bill 1275 (2014) (also known as Charge Ahead California) required CVRP to 
implement eligibility criteria based on income. ARB approved the 2015-16 Funding Plan 
in late June 2015, which included several changes to CVRP based on income: 

 
• Income cap for higher-income consumers 
• Increased rebate levels for low- and moderate-income consumers 

 
Income eligibility requirements will apply to rebate applications for vehicles purchased 
or leased on or after March 29, 2016. 

 

 
 

a. Income Cap for Higher-Income Consumers 
 
 

The income cap for higher-income consumers is set at the same income 
thresholds established in Proposition 30, a ballot initiative approved by California 
voters in 2012. Consumers will not be eligible for CVRP rebates if their gross 
annual incomes are above the following thresholds: 

 
• $250,000 for single filers 
• $340,000 for head-of-household filers 
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• $500,000 for joint filers 
 

The income cap applies to all eligible vehicle types except fuel-cell electric 
vehicles. 

 
For the purposes of CVRP, gross annual income is determined by the amount 
reported on the applicant’s federal tax return: 

 
• On IRS Form 1040: Line 22 
• On IRS Form 1040A: Line 15 
• On IRS Form 1040EZ: Line 4 

 
Gross annual income is determined based on the applicant’s most recent federal 
tax return or other proof of income documentation as determined by the 
Administrator. 

 
b. Increased Rebate Levels for Low- and Moderate-Income Consumers 

 
 

Rebate amounts will be increased by $1,500 per rebate for consumers with 
household incomes less than or equal to 300 percent of the federal poverty level. 
Applicants who are claimed as dependents are not eligible for increased rebates 
regardless of their income.  Increased rebate amounts are available for fuel-cell 
electric vehicles, battery electric vehicles, and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles. 

 
For the purposes of CVRP, a household includes all family members or other 
unrelated persons, including the rebate applicant, who reside together and share 
common living expenses. 

 
For the purposes of CVRP, gross annual household income includes that of the 
applicant and all other individuals in the household, ages 17 years and older, 
regardless of whether or not they are related to the rebate applicant. Gross 
income includes, but is not limited to the following: 

 
Wages, unemployment, workers' compensation, Social Security, 
Supplemental Security Income, public assistance, veterans' payments, 
survivor benefits, pension or retirement income, interest, dividends, rents, 
royalties, income from estates, trusts, educational assistance, alimony, 
child support, assistance from outside the household, and other 
miscellaneous sources. 

 
The household size and gross annual household income that is reported on the 
application should reflect the income when the vehicle was purchased or leased. 
 
 
 

 
5. Vehicle Rebate Amounts for Individuals, Businesses, and Public Entities 
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ARB establishes a rebate amount for each eligible vehicle model up to the maximum 
rebate amount for that vehicle type listed in Table 2.  Specific rebate amounts for each 
eligible vehicle model will be included in the List of Eligible Vehicle Models and available 
on the project website. 

 
Table 2 summarizes the maximum per vehicle rebate amount. 

 

Table 2: CVRP Maximum Rebate Amounts 
 Vehicle Type 
  

Filing Status Gross Annual 
Income Level 

 

FCEVs 
 

BEVs 
 

PHEVs 

Increased 
Rebates for 
Low/Moderate 
Income 

 

Gross annual household income 
≤ 300 percent of the federal 
poverty level* (FPL) 

 
 

$6,500 

 
 

$4,000 

 
 

$3,000 

 

 
 
Standard 
Rebate 

 

Individual 300% of FPL to 
$250K 

 
 
 

$5,000 

 
 
 

$2,500 

 
 
 

$1,500 Head-of- 
Household 

300% of FPL to 
$340K 

 

Joint 300% of FPL to 
$500K 

 
 
Income Cap 

Individual > $250K  
 

$5,000 

 
 

Not Eligible Head-of- 
Household 

 

> $340K 

Joint > $500K 
 

*Federal poverty level is updated annually, usually in the first calendar quarter of the year. CVRP 
applies the update on July 1 of that year. The current levels can be found at 
https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines. 

 

Combining Vehicle Rebates with Other Incentives 
Participation in CVRP does not preclude a vehicle purchaser or lessee from combining 
CVRP rebates with other incentive opportunities.  Rebates could be combined with 
federal, state, or local agency incentives as well as Administrator match funding, if 
available, to help further buy-down an eligible vehicle’s cost. 

 
6. Reduced Ownership Period Provisions Specific to Rental and Car Share 

Fleets 
 
 
Rental and car share fleets provide a unique opportunity for introducing eligible vehicles 
to a large consumer base.  Because vehicles are typically circulated out of the fleets in 
less than the 30-month ownership/lease period required under CVRP, provisions are 
warranted to allow these vehicles to be rebated.  Rental and car share vehicles are 
rebate-eligible if retained in California for a minimum of one year (twelve consecutive 
months) but less than 30 months. Vehicles must be available for rent from a California 
rental location for the minimum twelve consecutive month term. Rental fleets and car 
share fleets are subject to a limit of 20 rebated vehicles per calendar year.  See Section 
B(6) for more detailed information regarding the maximum number of rebates per entity. 
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Vehicles rebated under the reduced-ownership provision for rental and car share fleets 
are eligible for the rebate amounts identified in Table 3. Rental or car share fleets that 
own and operate vehicles in California for a minimum of 30 months are eligible for the 
vehicle’s maximum rebate amount identified in Table 2. 

 
 

Table 3: Rebate Amounts for Rental and Car Share Fleets Under the 
Reduced Ownership Provision 

 

Vehicle Type Maximum Rebate Amount Under 
Reduced Ownership 

Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicle $2,000 
All-Battery or Range-Extended Electric Vehicle $1,000 
Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle $600 
Zero-Emission Motorcycle $360 

 
 
7. Maximum Rebates per Entity 

 
 
Except for rental, public, and car share fleets, no single entity is eligible to receive 
more than two CVRP rebates either via direct purchase and/or lease as of January 1, 
2015. All rebates issued prior to this date do not count toward the two rebate limit. 
Traditional rental car fleets and car share fleets are capped at 20 rebates per calendar 
year.  Public fleets are limited to 30 rebates per calendar year. Table 4 summarizes 
the maximum number of rebates per entity. 

 
Table 4: Maximum Number of Rebates per Entity 

Consumer Type Maximum Number of Rebates 
Individual or Business 2 total* 

Public Fleet 30 per calendar year 
Rental Fleet 20 per calendar year 

Car Share Fleet 20 per calendar year 
*Individuals or businesses that were previously rebated the maximum number of rebates and 
wish to upgrade to a FCEV may apply for an additional rebate. 

 
a. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) Requirements 

For the purposes of CVRP, vehicles under common ownership or fiduciary 
control of a fleet – including, but not limited to, entities sharing a common 
Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) – are considered part of a single fleet 
even if they are part of different subsidiaries, divisions, or other organizational 
structure of a company, government agency, or other entity.  All entities, other 
than individuals, are required to disclose their TIN at the time of rebate 
application. ARB or its designee may seek financial reimbursement and/or civil 
and criminal penalties from a vehicle purchaser/lessee for non-disclosure or 
inaccurate disclosure of its TIN or other information relating to common 
ownership of fiduciary control of the purchasing entity. 

 
b. Unique Identifier for Individuals 
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All individuals are required to disclose their California driver’s license number 
at the time of rebate application and to provide a legible copy of their 
California driver’s license as part of the supporting documentation. This 
number is used to uniquely identify an individual and to enforce the maximum 
rebate limit for individuals as described in Table 4.  ARB or its designee may 
seek financial reimbursement and/or civil and criminal penalties from a vehicle 
purchaser/lessee for non-disclosure or inaccurate disclosure of their California 
driver’s license number.  Individuals who do not have a California driver’s 
license will be required to provide an alternate unique identifier as approved 
by the Administrator. 

 
8. Distribution of Rebates 

 
 
The purchaser or lessee must submit a rebate application within 18 months after the 
date of purchase/lease to be eligible for a rebate. For the purposes of CVRP, the date 
of purchase is the day of sale.  A sale is deemed completed when the purchaser of the 
vehicle has executed and signed a purchase contract or security agreement.  For the 
purposes of CVRP, a vehicle is deemed to be leased on the date upon which the lease 
of the vehicle commences, as specified in a signed lease agreement.  For Tesla 
vehicles ordered prior to March 29, 2016, the vehicle order date will be considered the 
date of purchase or lease.  For Tesla vehicles ordered on or after March 29, 2016, the 
date of first registration with the California DMV will be considered the date of purchase 
or lease. 

 
Ownership of the vehicle will be demonstrated by providing documentation as approved 
by the Administrator. With the exception of vehicles purchased under the special 
provisions of Section B(5), owned and leased vehicles must be operated and registered 
in California for a minimum of 30 consecutive months from the purchase or lease date 
(see Section (C)(1) for more information). 

 
Rebates will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis contingent upon funding 
availability. Available rebate funds will be reserved by the Administrator following 
submission of an online application at the CVRP website or upon receipt of a mailed 
application. Applicants without internet access can contact the Administrator in order to 
receive a rebate application by mail.  After an application is accepted by the 
Administrator, the required supporting documentation (outlined in Section C(3) must be 
submitted by the purchaser or lessee to the Administrator within 14 calendar days (if 
mailed, submittal date will be determined by U.S. mail postmark).  The supporting 
documentation may be scanned and submitted through the CVRP website or e-mailed 
to ______________.  Applicants without internet access may mail the supporting 
documentation to the Administrator. 

 
The rebate for an eligible vehicle will be issued to the qualified recipient in a single 
allotment. The distribution of this rebate will be made within 90 calendar days of 
application approval, contingent upon availability of funds. Rebate checks must be 
cashed within six months of the date on the check.  Checks not cashed within this 
timeframe will be cancelled, and the rebate amount returned to the project. 
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9. Waiting List 
 
 
ARB will review the progress of CVRP as well as development of the Funding Plan to 
determine if a waiting list is necessary and appropriate.  If necessary, ARB will 
coordinate the development of a waiting list with the Administrator. 

 
C. VEHICLE PURCHASER OR LESSEE DUTIES AND REQUIREMENTS 

 
 
1. Vehicle Purchaser or Lessee 

 
 
The vehicle purchaser or lessee is responsible for submitting the rebate application and 
providing all required documentation to the Administrator. Eligible vehicle purchasers or 
lessees must accept the rebate directly – CVRP does not provide an option to assign 
the rebate to a vehicle seller or lessor (i.e. vehicle dealer or manufacturer). To receive  
a CVRP rebate, a vehicle purchaser or lessee must: 

 
a. Be an individual, business or government entity that is based in California or has 

a California-based affiliate at the time the rebated vehicle is purchased or leased. 
Proof of California DMV registration will be required to complete a CVRP 
application. 

 
i. Eligible vehicles may be purchased or leased out-of-state, but consumers 

must be California residents at the time of vehicle purchase.  All businesses 
must be licensed to operate in California.  Active duty military members 
stationed in California, but with permanent residency in another state are 
eligible to apply and may use military orders in lieu of other proof of residence 
documentation. 

 
b. Purchase or lease a new, eligible vehicle as specified in Section B of this 

Implementation Manual.  The original lease must be a minimum lease term of 30 
months. Lease extensions and lease buy-outs are not eligible for a rebate. 

 
c. Be a purchaser or lessee of a new, eligible vehicle and submit a CVRP 

application within 18 months of the vehicle purchase or lease date and prior to 
exhaustion of available rebate funds. 

 
d. Purchase or lease an eligible vehicle before applying for a rebate. 

 

 
e. Retain ownership of the vehicle in California for a minimum of 30 consecutive 

months immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease date (only rental and car 
share vehicles are eligible for a reduced ownership provision if retained in 
California for a minimum of twelve consecutive months but less than 30 
consecutive months). 

 
 

i. Rebate recipients who do not retain the eligible vehicle for the full 30-month 
ownership or lease period will be required to reimburse ARB all or part of the 
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original rebate amount. See Section C(4). 
 

ii. Vehicle purchasers or lessees are required to notify the Administrator, by 
calling ___________ or emailing __________, to arrange for early 
termination of vehicle ownership in advance of intent to sell or terminate a 
lease prior to the required 30-month ownership period. 

 
 
f. Register the new vehicle with the California DMV for a minimum of 30 

consecutive months from the original purchase or lease date for use in California. 
Any government owned vehicle not registered with the California DMV is still 
required to operate within California for 30 consecutive months immediately after 
the vehicle purchase or lease date.  Rental and car share purchasers or lessees 
must register the vehicle with the California DMV and operate the vehicle for a 
minimum of 12 consecutive months after vehicle purchase or lease date under 
the reduced-ownership provision or for at least 30 months in order to receive full 
rebate amounts. Planned non-operation (PNO) registrations are not acceptable. 
Vehicles that have PNO registrations are not eligible for the rebate. 

 
g. Submit the signed application form and all required supporting documentation 

within 14 calendar days of application submittal as specified in Section C(3) of 
this Implementation Manual. 

 
h. Not make or allow any modifications to the vehicle’s emissions control systems, 

hardware, software calibrations, or hybrid system (Violation, CVC 27156). 
 
i. Commit that any emission reductions generated by the purchased vehicle will not 

be used as marketable emission reduction credits, to offset any emission 
reduction obligation of any person or entity, or to generate a compliance 
extension or extra credit for determining regulatory compliance. 

 
j. Be available for follow-up inspection if requested by the Administrator, ARB, or 

ARB’s designee for the purposes of project oversight and accountability. 
 
k. Rebate checks must be cashed within six months of the date on the check. 

Checks not cashed within this timeframe will be cancelled and the rebate amount 
returned to the project. 

 
The vehicle purchaser or lessee is responsible for ensuring the accuracy of the 
information on all rebate applications and required documentation submitted to the 
Administrator. Submission of false information on any required documents may be 
considered a criminal offense and is punishable under penalty of perjury under the laws 
of the State of California.  ARB or its designee may recoup the CVRP funds which were 
received based upon misinformation or fraud, or for which the dealership, manufacturer, 
or vehicle purchaser or lessee is in significant or continual non-compliance with this 
Implementation Manual or State law.  ARB also retains the authority to prohibit any 
entity from participating in CVRP due to non-compliance with project requirements. 
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Rebate applications that have been denied or cancelled by the Administrator may be 
appealed within 10 days of the date of the cancellation. If the only basis for an appeal is 
that the applicant disagrees with the policies set forth in the CVRP Terms and 
Conditions and the Implementation Manual, there is no basis for an appeal. A formal 
letter of appeal must be postmarked within 10 days of a cancelled application and 
addressed to the following: 

 
CVRP Appeals 
MSCD 5th Floor 
1001 I St., P.O. Box 2815 
Sacramento, CA 95812 

 

 
 
2. Research Participation 

 
 
ARB reserves the right to request participation from rebate recipients in ongoing 
research efforts that support the CVRP and AQIP goals as well as ARB Research 
Division efforts. The Administrator shall administer vehicle owner surveys to rebate 
recipients to collect data and other information pertaining to CVRP-eligible vehicle 
ownership. ARB will coordinate with the Administrator to identify survey parameters 
and determine the most effective mechanism for obtaining information. 

 
3. Supporting Documentation 

 
 
After submitting a rebate application, if the purchaser or lessee does not submit the 
required supporting documentation within the specified 14 calendar days, the funds will 
be released back to the project and the purchaser or lessee will be required to submit a 
new rebate application. 

 
The supporting documentation may be scanned and submitted through the CVRP 
website.  Applicants without internet access may mail the supporting documentation to 
the Administrator. If mailed, submittal date will be determined by U.S. mail postmark. 
For security purposes, supporting documents that are sent on removable media (flash 
drives, CDs, DVDs, etc.) will not be accepted. Because of security and privacy 
concerns, applicants are strongly discouraged from emailing their supporting 
documentation. However, applicants may email their supporting documentation to 
_______________ with the understanding that they accept all risk associated with 
emailing these documents. 

 
Required documentation will include, at a minimum, the following: 

 
a. For applicants who request applications by phone, a complete application with 

signature and date. For online applicants, a scanned copy of the submitted 
application signed by the vehicle purchaser, lessee, or authorized representative. 

 
 
b. Proof of temporary or permanent vehicle registration for the vehicle listed in the 
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application. The applicant’s name must be on the registration, and the 
registration must be current (not expired). Acceptable forms of proof of 
registration include the following: 

 
i. A copy of the Application for New Vehicle Registration submitted by the 

dealer to the DMV if submitted within one year of sale/lease. 
 

ii. A copy of a temporary operating permit if accompanied by a receipt of 
payment for DMV registration fees. 

 
iii. Local, state, and federal agencies and entities may submit other documents 

with the prior approval of the Administrator. 
 

Unacceptable forms of proof of registration include the following: 
 

i. A DMV file copy. 
 

ii. An expired registration. 
 

iii. A PNO registration. 
 
c. A complete copy of the sales or lease contract.  A complete contract is executed 

and signed. It includes an itemization of credits, discounts, and incentives 
received, if applicable, and all information needed to process the application. 

 
d. For individuals, a legible copy of their current (not expired) California driver’s 

license. This is used to uniquely identify the applicant, prove California 
residency, and to enforce the maximum rebate limit for individuals (see Section 
6, Table 4). 

 
i. Individuals who do not have a California driver’s license will be required to 

provide a legible copy of a current alternate unique identifier as approved by 
the Administrator. They must also provide proof of California residency in the 
form of a utility or cable bill from within the last 3 months, a copy of the 
current DMV registration of another vehicle in the name of the purchaser or 
lessee, a signed, dated, and notarized residential rental agreement, or other 
valid form of California residency as approved by ARB. 

 
e. For businesses, a copy of the formation document filed with the California 

secretary of state, California business license, California business tax paid 
certificate, or other documentation as approved by the Administrator.  In lieu of 
the options above, sole proprietorships may submit a DBA form. 

 
f. For ZEMs, evidence of maintenance free batteries (and sealed if lead- acid), and 

a 24-month warranty. 
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The Administrator will select a subset of applications for income verification. Failure to 
provide documentation for income verification will result in the application being 
cancelled and no rebate issued. 

 
Standard applicants selected for income verification must submit IRS Form 4506-T, 
Request for Transcript of Tax Return as proof of income. Alternate proof of income, 
such as recent tax returns, may be submitted as approved by the Administrator. 

 
Increased rebate applicants selected for income verification must submit option A or B 
as proof of household income: 

• Option A: A document confirming the applicant’s participation in at least one of 
the public assistance programs on  CVRP ’s  Cat e go rica l  Eligibility L is t . 

• Option B: One completed Household Summary Form and a completed IRS Form  
4506-T for every household member age 17 and older. 

 

Additional documentation may be requested to provide complete details on household 
size and income. 

 
Once the Administrator has verified the documentation, a rebate check will be issued to 
the vehicle purchaser or lessee. 

 
4. Vehicle Ownership Provision 

 
 
With the exception of vehicles purchased or leased under the special provisions in 
Section B(5), vehicle purchasers and lessees participating in CVRP are required to 
keep the vehicle and meet all applicable project requirements for a minimum 30-month 
period after the vehicle purchase or lease date. 

 
If a manufacturer defect or other unforeseen circumstances require the replacement of  
a CVRP rebated vehicle with another vehicle of the same technology type (FCEV, BEV, 
PHEV, etc.) or upgrade (e.g., replace PHEV with BEV), the Administrator, in conjunction 
with ARB, has discretion to allow updated information to be provided with no return of 
CVRP rebate funds. 

 
ARB also reserves the right to allow a lease transfer or lease assumption of a rebated 
vehicle–so long as the vehicle is not returned to the dealership for resale or release– 
without the return of CVRP rebate funds.  The individual or entity assuming the lease 
will be responsible for compliance with the CVRP Terms and Conditions in effect at the 
time the rebate was initially issued. 

 
Resale of a vehicle or return of a leased vehicle to a dealer may be allowed within this 
30-month period if necessitated by unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances. To 
employ this provision, contact the Administrator to initiate this process.  If the vehicle is 
resold or returned, the vehicle purchaser or lessee must refund promptly to the 
Administrator a prorated portion of their rebate, in an amount equivalent to the original 
rebate amount divided by 30 months and then multiplied by the number of months 
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remaining in the original 30-month period (rounded to the nearest month): 
 
(Original Rebate Amount ÷ 30 Months) x (30 – months since vehicle purchase or 
lease date) 

 
The Administrator will follow specific procedures when managing vehicles that received 
a rebate at the time of original sale or lease and have since been sold or returned to the 
dealer prior to the 30-month ownership commitment (see Attachment A). 

 
Purchasers or lessees who must resell a vehicle or return a leased vehicle to a dealer 
due to unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances such as military duty or a totaled 
vehicle may be exempt from returning the prorated rebate amount.  Military duty 
exemptions will be approved by ARB on a case-by-case basis. 

 
ARB verifies vehicle ownership through periodic checks of Vehicle Identification 
Numbers (VINs) in the California DMV database.  If a vehicle purchaser or lessee sells 
or returns the rebated vehicle to the dealer and does not receive prior approval, ARB or 
its designee reserves the right to recoup CVRP funds from the original vehicle 
purchaser identified on the rebate form and may pursue other remedies available under 
the law for unauthorized early termination of vehicle ownership. 

 
D. DEFINITIONS 

 
 
“ARB-certified” means a vehicle that has been certified as a ZEV or a Transitional 
Zero Emission Vehicle and issued an Executive Order by ARB in accordance with the 
provisions of the California ZEV Regulation (section 1962(e), Title 13, CCR). 

 
“Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV)” means any vehicle that operates solely by use of a 
battery, or that is powered primarily through the use of an electric battery but uses a 
flywheel or capacitor that also stores energy to assist in vehicle operation. 

 
“BEVx” means a vehicle powered predominantly by a zero-emission energy storage 
device, able to drive the vehicle for more than 75 all-electric miles, and also equipped 
with a backup APU, which does not operate until the energy storage device is fully 
depleted, and meeting requirements in subdivision 1962.1(d)(5)(G), Title 13, CCR 
section 1962.1(i)(12). 

 
“Business” means an enterprise, organization, or association entered into for common 
purpose. Businesses include, but are not limited to, limited liability companies or 
partnerships, cooperatives, sole proprietorships, corporations, S corporations, not-for- 
profit and non-profit organizations, associations, and investor owned utilities. 
Businesses are delineated by Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).  Vehicles owned by 
a business are considered part of a single business even if they are part of different 
subsidiaries, divisions, or other organizational structures.  For the purposes of CVRP, 
franchises, divisions or subsidiaries doing business under a common name will be 
considered one entity, even if they do not share a TIN, at the discretion of the ARB. 
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“Car share fleet” is a vehicle fleet solely composed of car sharing vehicles.  These 
vehicles are under common ownership or fiduciary control, including, but not limited to, 
entities sharing a common Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).  For CVRP purposes, 
even if a car share fleet is composed of vehicles that are part of different subsidiaries or 
divisions of an organization, including but not limited to entities sharing a common 
Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN), it is considered a single fleet. The organization 
owning the rebated car sharing vehicles must own and operate the car sharing program 
and use the rebated vehicles exclusively for car sharing purposes. 

 
“Car sharing” means a model of vehicle rental where users can rent vehicles for short 
periods of time and users are members that have been pre-approved to drive. 

 
“Fleet” means vehicles under common ownership or fiduciary control, including, but not 
limited to, entities sharing a common Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN).  Vehicles 
are considered part of a single fleet even if they are part of different subsidiaries, 
divisions, or other organizational structures of a company, government agency, or other 
entity. 

 
“Floor Model/Test Drive Vehicle” is provided by original equipment manufacturers to 
car dealerships for the purpose of test drives and other customer interactions.  
California dealerships may temporarily operate a floor model or test drive vehicle on 
public roads with “dealer” license plates for the purpose of test drives.  Use of floor 
model or test drive vehicles on public roads with “dealer” license plates does not require 
vehicle registration with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

 
“Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV)” means a vehicle that is powered by a group of 
individual fuel cells, known as a fuel-cell stack. The stack is designed to contain 
enough cells to provide the necessary power for the automotive application. A fuel-cell 
stack produces power as long as fuel is available, similar to a conventional engine, but 
does so electrochemically rather than with combustion. The electricity generated by the 
fuel-cell stack powers the electric motor that propels the vehicle. 

 
“Gross annual household income” includes that of the applicant and all other 
individuals in the household, ages 17 years and older, regardless of whether or not they 
are related to the rebate applicant. Gross income includes, but is not limited to the 
following: wages, unemployment, workers’ compensation, Social Security, 
Supplemental Security Income, public assistance, veterans’ payments, survivor 
benefits, pension or retirement income, interest, dividends, rents, royalties, income from 
estates, trusts, educational assistance, alimony, child support, assistance from outside 
the household, and other miscellaneous sources. 

 
“Gross annual income” is determined by the amount reported on the applicant’s 
federal tax return: line 22 on IRS Form 1040, line 15 on IRS Form 1040A, and line 4 
on IRS Form 1040EZ. 
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“Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)” means the vehicle weight described on the 
original manufacturer Line Setting Ticket provided to the vehicle dealer. 

 
“Household” includes all family members or other unrelated persons, including the 
rebate applicant, who reside together and share common living expenses. 

 
“Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV)” (in some cases referred to as an Extended 
Range Electric Vehicle, Transitional Zero-Emission Vehicle, or E-REV) means a hybrid 
electric vehicle which: 

o has zero-emission vehicle range capability, 
o has an on-board electrical energy storage device with useful capacity greater 

than or equal to ten miles of Urban Dynamometer Driving Schedule (UDDS) 
range on electricity alone, 

o is equipped with an on-board charger, and 
o is rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board electrical source. 

 
“Public entity” as defined in California Government Code section 811.2 includes the 
state, the Regents of the University of California, the Trustees of the California State 
University and the California State University, a county, city, district, public authority, 
public agency, and any other political subdivision or public corporation in the State.  For 
non-California public entities (e.g., federal, tribal, international), an analogous definition 
applies. 

 
“Public fleet” means a fleet under ownership of a public entity. 

 
“Rollback/Unwind Vehicle” is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being 
purchased and operated by a buyer.  Rollbacks can occur if a buyer’s financing is 
rejected. An unwind occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is 
completed, but the sale of the vehicle was not consummated and the buyer never took 
delivery. 

 
“Rental fleet” means a fleet categorized under the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) as an establishment engaged in renting passenger cars 
without drivers, generally for short or long periods of time (2007 NAICS code 532111 
and 532112). 

 
“Zero-Emission Motorcycle (ZEM)” means either a fully-enclosed zero-emission 
vehicle designed to travel on three wheels or a two-wheeled electric motorcycle. ZEMs 
must meet the provisions of CVC section 400 and be freeway capable. 

 
“Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV)” means any vehicle certified to zero-emission 
standards. 
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Attachment A 
 
 
 

Procedures for Authorizing Early Lease/Ownership Termination of Rebated 
Vehicles 

 
 
This document provides the necessary steps involved for the Rebate Administrator 
(Administrator) and the California Air Resources Board (ARB) to follow if notified of the 
resale or lease termination of a Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) rebated vehicle. 

 
Step One: Notify the Administrator of Vehicle Resale/Lease Termination Request 
If ARB is notified of vehicle resale or lease termination request, ARB will contact the 
Administrator with the applicant’s email and contact information and a brief description 
of the request for processing. 

 
Step Two: The Administrator Documents Vehicle Resale/Lease Termination  
Request 
Once notified by a rebate recipient of interest in reselling/terminating the lease on a 
CVRP funded vehicle, the Administrator will document the case on a resale/lease 
termination request form: 

 
1. Applicant contact information 
2. Date when the individual applied for CVRP 
3. Original rebate amount received 
4. Vehicle Identification Number 
5. Reason for vehicle resale/lease termination 
6. Status of vehicle resale/lease termination 
7. Odometer reading on date of resale/lease termination 
8. Prorated rebate amount using the formula below: 

 

 
(Original Rebate Amount ÷ 30 Months) x (30 – months since vehicle 
purchase or lease date) 

 

 
Step Three:  Administrator Review and Rule on Vehicle Resale/Lease Termination  
Request 
The Administrator will review the resale/lease termination request and any supporting 
documentation, and inform the individual of their decision within 10 working days. 

 
Step Four:  The Administrator Notifies Applicant Ruling 
The Administrator will communicate their decision to the individual requesting 
resale/lease termination, including instructions for refunding the prorated amount of the 
rebate to the Administrator if the resale/lease termination request is granted.  Refunded 
rebates will be added back into the rebate funding pool. 

 
Step Five:  The Administrator Notifies ARB of Applicant Refund or a Non- 
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Responsive Rebate Recipient 
Once the prorated rebate amount is refunded back to CVRP, the Administrator will 
inform ARB, through program reporting.  Additionally, the Administrator will provide 
monthly status reports until the refund is received.  If a the individual requesting 
resale/lease termination is unresponsive and fails to return the prorated rebate amount 
within 30 calendar days of initial ruling notification, the Administrator shall notify ARB 
and provide the individual’s information outlined in Step Two. 

 
Step Six: Coordination with Enforcement of CVRP Ownership Terms 
ARB program staff is responsible for coordination with staff conducting periodic VIN 
checks of the DMV database for ownership compliance.  Individuals that received 
resale/lease termination approval from ARB will not be in violation of the CVRP 
ownership terms. 
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Attachment B 
 

Procedures for Floor Model/Test Drive and Rollback/Unwind Vehicle Eligibility 
 
 
This document provides the steps necessary for the Administrator and the California Air 
Resources Board (ARB) to manage Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) rebate 
applications for floor model, test drive, rollback and unwind vehicles. 

 
Step One: Definitions 

 

Floor Model/Test Drive Vehicles 
 
Floor model or test drive vehicles are provided by original equipment manufacturers to 
car dealerships for the purpose of test drives and other customer interactions.  
California dealerships may temporarily operate a floor model or test drive vehicle on 
public roads with “dealer” license plates for the purpose of test drives.  Use of floor 
model or test drive vehicles on public roads with “dealer” license plates does not require 
vehicle registration with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). 

 
Rollback/Unwind Vehicles 

 
A rollback is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being purchased or leased 
and operated by a buyer.  Rollbacks can occur if a buyer’s financing is rejected.  An 
unwind occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is completed, but 
the sale or lease of the vehicle was not consummated and the buyer never took 
delivery. 

 
Step Two: Review of Vehicle Supporting Documents 
The Administrator will review the supporting documents within the rebate application to 
ensure the application meets all program requirements.  A California vehicle sales or 
lease contract will indicate if a vehicle is new or used. 

 
2.1 Floor Model/Test Drive Documentation: Per the California DMV’s Vehicle 
Registration Procedures Manual, a new vehicle operated as a floor model or test 
drive vehicle (referred to as “demonstrator” vehicles by the California DMV) is 
classified to be a used vehicle when subsequently sold to a retail buyer. 
However, when sold to the retail buyer, floor model or test drive vehicles must be 
registered with the California DMV as a new vehicle through the use of the 
Application for Registration of a New Vehicle (California DMV Form 397).  The 
sale or lease contract and the proof of temporary or permanent vehicle 
registration should reflect these DMV requirements. The Administrator may 
require documentation showing that the dealership is attesting to the fact that the 
car is an unregistered floor model or test drive vehicle (demo vehicle). 

 
 
 

2.2 Rollback/Unwind Documentation: Per the California’s DMV’s Vehicle 
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Registration Procedures Manual, rollback and unwind vehicles occur when they 
have been registered by the original purchaser through the use of the Application 
for Registration of New Vehicle (California DMV Form 397).  The Administrator 
requires documentation showing that the dealership is attesting to the fact that 
the car is either a rollback or unwind vehicle. 

 
Step Three: Determining Vehicle Eligibility 
Based on the supporting documents provided with the rebate application, the 
Administrator, with input from ARB, will determine whether the applicant is eligible for 
the CVRP rebate. 

 
3.1 Floor Model/Test Drive Eligibility: A floor model or test drive vehicle which 
was not previously registered with the California DMV, and meets all other CVRP 
vehicle eligibility criteria, is eligible for the CVRP rebate.  Per section 2(a) of the 
CVRP Implementation Manual, a floor model or test drive vehicle which has 
previously been registered with the California DMV does not meet the CVRP 
vehicle eligibility criteria, thus is not eligible for the CVRP rebate. 

 
3.2 Rollback/Unwind Eligibility: A rollback or unwind vehicle has previously been 
registered with the California DMV; however, the sale or lease was never 
completed. The vehicle was either returned or never delivered due to financing 
issues. These vehicles’ eligibility will be determined on a case by case basis 
after reviewing the supporting documentation. 
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