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Subject: Avoid Penalties: Requirements of the California Truck and Bus
Regulation for 1996-2004 Model Year Engines

Heavy-duty Vehicle Owners and Operators:

On January 1, 2013, the Truck and Bus Regulation requirements for heavier vehicles—
vehicles over 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight rating—that have 2000 to 2004
model year (MY) engines take effect. The regulation reduces emissions of toxic diesel
exhaust through requirements for the use of verified soot filters and/or upgrades to
newer vehicles. Last year, similar requirements took effect for 1996-1999 MY engines.
You are receiving this letter because the California Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) records indicate you may own one or more diesel powered trucks or buses that
must be in compliance with the regulation’s upcoming compliance deadline.

Vehicles operating in California are subject to a number of clean air regulations, and
each year Air Resources Board (ARB) inspectors regularly check thousands of trucks
for compliance. Beginning January 1, 2013, ARB inspectors will begin checking for
compliance with the upcoming Truck and Bus deadline at a variety of locations
statewide including California Highway Patrol (CHP) weigh stations, random roadside
locations, distribution centers, fleet facilities, truck stops, and other locations where
trucks and buses are present. ARB inspectors will also perform electronic fleet audits.

A non-compliant vehicle (including out-of-state vehicles) may not be legally operated in
California. Penalties start at a minimum of $1,000 per violation per month and will
increase significantly over time. As a result of past inspections, nearly $2,000,000 in
penalties has been assessed in the first nine months of 2012, with many recent cases
still pending. Additionally, non-compliance can result in a DMV registration block on
your truck and/or having your vehicle impounded by CHP until it is in compliance. For
more information on possible penalties, see the “Enforcement” link at
www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop.

If your vehicle is subject to the Truck and Bus regulation and you have not already
taken action to comply, do not delay. It may take a month or longer to have a verified
soot filter installed if one is needed. If your vehicle needs a soot filter and you do not
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have it installed by January 1, 2013, you will not be in compliance with the regulation;
however, you may be able to significantly reduce non-compliance penalties by taking
action now.

If you own three or fewer diesel trucks, you can take advantage of the small fleet option
that delays compliance until January 1, 2014, by reporting your truck information to
ARB. There is no cost for reporting.

More information on how to comply with the Truck and Bus regulation is available at
ARB's TruckStop website at www.arb.ca.gov/truckstop, by calling 1-866-6DIESEL
(866-634-3735) or via email at 8666DIESEL@arb.ca.gov. To report information
regarding non-complaint fleets, call 1-800-END-SMOG or online at:
http://www.arb.ca.gov/enf/complaints/complaints.htm

ames Ryden, Chief
Enforcement Division
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