State of California
AIR RESOURCES BOARD

Notice of Public Availability of Modified Text
and Supporting Documents and Information

PUBLIC HEARING TO CONSIDER THE'ADOPTION OF PERMIT'#EE REGULATIONS FOR
NONVEHICULAR SOURCES PURSUANT TO THE CALIFORNIA CLEAN AIR ACT

Public Hearing Date: April 14, 1994

Public Availability Date: May 12, 1994
Second Public Availability Date: August 5, 1994
~ Deadline for Public Comment: August 22, 1994

At its April 14, 1994, public hearing, the Air Resources Board (ARB'or

“Board) approved the adoption of new section 90800.5 and amended section

90803, Title 17, California Code of Regulations (CCR), requiring local air
pollution control and air quality management districts to collect permit
fees from nonvehicular sources which emit 500 tons or more per year of any

‘nonattainment air pollutant or precursor. The fees, which are to be

remitted to the ARB, are necessary to defray a portion of the cost to the
Board of implementing requirements of the California Clean Air-Act

. {Stats. 1988, ch. 1568) related to nonvehicular sources.

At the hearing, the staff presented modifications to the origina1 proposal
as set forth in the staff report released on February 25, 1994. These
modifications included a recalculation of the fee rate due to a number of

emission changes reported by one district. In recalculating the fees, the

fee rate of $15.57 per ton shown in the staff report was changed to $15.83

per ton, and the total amounts of fees to be remitted to the Board by the

affected districts were adjusted. The Board approved these medifications to

the regulations. Also, a change occurred in the boundary between iwo
districts. This does not affect the fee rate, but it does change the
district that is responsibie for collecting fees from one facility.

In accordance with section 11346.8 of the Government Code, the Board
directed the Executive Officer to adopt section 90800.5 and amended section
90803, Title 17, CCR, after making the modified requlations available to the
public for comment for a period of at least 15 days, provided that the

Executive Officer shall consider such written comments as may be received

and shall make such modifications as are deemed appropriate in 1light of the

comments received, and shall present the regulations to the Board for
 further consideration if warranted. .

The changes in emissions and the boundary change discussed above were
subject to a 15-day comment period which began on May 12, 1994. No comments
were received regarding these changes during the 15-day comment period which
ended on May 27, 1994, _




\J .

At the hearing, the Board discussed adding a clarification to the
regulations to indicate that a district may be excused from a portion of the
fees if the district is unable to collect the fees because of an emission
quantification error. Section 90803 of the regulations has now been revised
to incorporate the clarification as discussed. This clarification was not

~included in the document made available for public. review on May 12, 1994.

Attached is a copy of Board Resolution 94-19, which approves the permit fee
regulations. Attached to the resolution are the regulations as approved by
the Board including the changes presented in the May 12, 1994, review
document. The Tanguage proposed for adoption subsequent to May 12, 1994, is
shown in single underline on page 19 to indicate changes to the regulation
as it was approved by the Board.

Written comments on these modifications must be submittedjfb the Board
Secretary, Air Resources Board, P. 0. Box 2815, Sacramento, California
95812, no later than August 22, 1994, for consideration by the Executive

.Officer. Only comments relating to the modifications to the regulations and
- supporting documents described in this notice shall be considered by the

Executive Officer.

_ Attachments



State of California
AIR RESOURCES BOARD

Resolution 94-i3
April 14, 1994

Agenda Item No.: 94-4-1

WHEREAS, sections 39600 and 39601 of the Health and Safety Code authoriie
 the Air Resources Board {the "Board") to adopt standards, rules and °
regulations and to do such acts as may be necessary for the proper execution
of the powers and duties granted to and imposed upon the Board by law;

“WHEREAS, the lLegislature in 1988 enacted the California Clean Air Act of
1988 (the "Act"; Stats. 1988, ch. 1568) to address the problem of air
pollution in California;

WHEREAS, in the California Clean Air Act the Legislature declared that
attainment of the Board's health-based ambient air quality standards 'is
necessary to protect public health, particularly of children, older people,
and those with respiratory diseases and directed that these standards be
attained at the earliest practicable date; ' :

WHEREAS, the California Clean Air Act directs the Board to perform numerous
tasks related to both vehicular and nonvehicular sources of -air pollution;

WHEREAS, section 39612 of the Hezlth and Safety Code authorizes the Board to
require air pollution control and air quality management districts
("districts®), beginning July 1, 1989, to impose additional permit fees on
nonvehicular sources which emit 500 tons per year or more of any
nonattainment pollutant or ifs precursors in order to recover costs of

additional state programs related to nonvehicular sources authorized or
required by the Act; ! :

WHEREAS, the Board staff has conferred with representatives of local
districts and with their assistance has developed a proposed fee program

which specifies the amount of fees to be collected by each district for
transmission to the Board; .

WHEREAS, the proposed fee regulations have been designed to provide the
Board with net reventes of thresz million dollars ($3,000,000) to cover
budgeted expenses for Fiscal Year 1994-385 of -implementing nonvehicular
source related activities under the Act;

WHEREAS, the proposed fee regulafions provide that any excess fees collected:
shall be carried over and consicered when setting fees in future years;

WHEREAS, the proposed fee regulations specify by district the amount to be
transmitted to the Board for deposit in the Air Pollution Control Fund in




‘ " Resolution 94-19 . ' -2-

" Fiscal Year 1994-95 and authorize each district to assess additional fees to
recover the administrative costs to the district of collecting the fees;

WHEREAS, pursuant to section 39612 of the Health and Safety Code the
proposed fee program for Fiscal Year 1934-95 is based on emissions of
nonattainment pollutants or their precursors, as provided in the Act, using
the most current statewide emission data ava11ab1e from the districts, which
are for calendar year 1392;

WHEREAS, the California Environmental Quality Act .and Board regulations
require that no project which may have significant adverse environmental
impacts be adopted as originally proposed if feasible alternatives or
mitigation measures are available to reduce or eliminate such impacts;

WHEREAS, a public hearing and other administrative,proceedings haQe been
held in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 3.5 (commencing with
section 11340), Part 1, Division 3, Title 2 of the Government Code;

WHEREAS, the Board finds that:

The funds which would be collected pursuant to the prbposed
fee regulations are needed to implement the nonvehicular

source related programs estab11shed pursuant to the Ca11forn1a
Clean Air Act; .

“The excess fees collected in Fiscal Year 1992-93 have been
carried over-and considered in the calculation of fees in the
~_proposed regulation; .

The proposed fee regulations are based on annual emissions of
nonattainment pollutants from facilities that emit 500 tons
per year .or more of any nonattainment pollutant or its
precursors based on the most recent statewide data available;

The proposed fee regulations will not affect the creation or
elimination of jobs within the State of California, the
creation of new businesses or the elimination of existing
businesses within California, the expansion of businesses
currently doing business within California, or the ability of
California Businesses to compete with businesses in other
states; :

The proposed fee regulations will not have a significant
adverse economic impact on either the affected sources, on
other businesses or private persons affected, or on the
districts, which are authorized to recover the administrative
costs of collecting the fees; and :

WHEREAS, the Board has determined, pursuant to the requirements of the
California Environmental Quality Act and the Board’'s regulations, that this

regulatory action will not have any significant adverse impact on the
environment.
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Resolution 94-19 ' _3-

~ NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board hereby approves sectioens

gQ0g00.5 and 90803, Title 17, Ca11forn1a Code of Regulations, as set forth in
Attachment A hereto

BE IT FURTHER RESOLYED that the Board directs the Executive Officer to adopt
sections 90800.5 and 90803, Title 17, California Code of Regulations, after
making them available to ‘the public for a period of 15 days, provided that .
the Executive Officer shall consider such writiten comments as may be
submitted during this period, shall make modifications as may be appropriate
in 1ight of the comments received, and shall present the regulations to .the
Board for further consideration if he determines that this is warranted.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLYED that the Board directs the Executive Officer to
forward the attached regulations to the affected districts {or appropriate
action, and to the Department of Finance, the Legislative Analyst, and the
State Contro]1er, for informaticn and for approprwate action.

BE IT FURTHER RESDLVED that the Board gives. notice of 1ts intention to.
review.the status of the program to implement the provisions of the
california Clean Ajr Act in 1995, and to reconsider at that time the renewal
and modification, as nzcessary, of the fee program in order to reflect
changes in program needs and capabilities, base year emissions, and such
other Tactors as may influence funding requirements of the Act.

I hereby certify that the above is a
true and correct copy of Resolution
94-19, as adopted by the Air Resources
Board.

Pat Hutchens, Board Secretary-




90800.

CALIFORNIA CLEAN AIR ACT
NONVEHICULAR SOURCE FEE REGULATIONS

~ Adopt New Section 90800.5
and Amend Section 90803
Subchapter 3.8, California Clean A1r Act -
Nonvehicular Source Fee Regulations,
as follows:

Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1989-90.

RS

(a) No later than 180 days after the effective date of Sections

90800-90803, each district identified below shall transmit
the dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit
into the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted
shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or'precursofs during the

- period from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1987,

inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and .

- other fees already authorized to be collected from such

sources. The fee to be charged sha]] be nine do]]ars and

~ ninety-two cents ($9.92) per ton.

(1) Bay Area Air Quality Management District: six hundred
seven thousand two hundred ninety-five dollars
- (3607, 295);

(2) Butte County Air Pollution Control District: e1ght
thousand nine hundred fifty-eight doilars ($8,958);

~ (3) Fresno County Air Pollution Control District: thirty-

four thousand one hundred fifty-five dollars
($34,155); |

=0



N

(4)

Kern County Air Pollution Contr01 District: four
hundred eighty-eight thousand eight hundred fifty-

"~ eight dollars ($488,858);

(5)

(6)

Kings County Air Pollution Controil District: six
thousand two hundred ninety-nine dollars ($6,299);
Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:

seventy-six thousand three hunqred_thirty—six dollars

($76,336) 3

(7)
(8)

(9)

(o)

(11}

(12)

(13)

- (18)

(15}

North Coast Unified Air Po11ut1on Control District:
forty-nine thousand five hundred seventy- qne dolTars
($49,571); o
Sacramento County Air Pollution Control'District:
eleven thousand nine hundred Ffourteen. dollars
($11,914);

San Bernardino County Air Po]]ut1on Contro] D1str1ct '

two hundred six thousand one hundred forty-two
dollars ($206,142);
San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:

fifty-three thousand six hundred thirty-nine dollars |

($53,639);

San Joaquin County Air Pollution Control District:
thirty-three thousand two hundred thirteen dollars
($33,213); '

San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control
D1str1ct eighty-nine thousand two hundred thirty-
two dollars ($89,232);

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control D1str1ct
twenty-four thousand eight hundred e1ghty dollars
($24,880);

Shasta County Air Po]lut1on Control District:
thirteen thousand nine hundred forty-eight dollars
($13,948); :

South Coast Air Quality Management District: five
hundred eighty-five thousand five hundred ninety
dollars ($585,590); '



(16) Stanislaus County Air Pollution Control District:
nine thousand seven hundred fifty-two dollars
($9,752)5

(17) Ventura County Air Pollution Control D1str1ct
forty-eight thousand seven hundred eighteen dollars
($48,718). | ,

(b) Emissions from facilities identified on or before June 12,
1989, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment po]]utant or precursors during the period
January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1987, shall be used
to detefmine compliance with these regulations.

(¢) In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a
district shall, for any faci?ity identified after June 12,
1989, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or. its precursors dur1ng the period

- from January 1, 1987, through December 31, 1987, transmit
to the Board for deposit into the Air PoTlution Control
Fund nine dollars and ninety-two cents ($9.92) per ton of

~such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authofity cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. '

90800.1 Fee Requifements‘for Fiscal Year 1990-91.

{a) No later than 180 days after the operative date of this

section, each district identified below shall transmit the
dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into
"the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted
shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the
‘period from January 1, 1988, through December 31, 1988,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and



other fees already authorized to be collected from such

sources.

The fee to be charged shall be twelve dellars and

eighty-nine cents ($12.89)}.

(1)

(2)

(5)
{6)

(7)

(9)

Bay Area Air Quality Management District: eight
hundred fifty-four thousand five hundred six dollars
($854,500); : _
Fresno County Air Po]]ut1on Contro] District: forty-

- eight thousand seven hundred thIrty nine dollars

($48,739);

Imperial County Air Pollution Control District: ten
thousand four hundred three dollars ($10, 403);

Kern County Air Pollution Control District: six
hundred thirteen th0usand_one hundred twenty dollars
($613 120); :

K1ngs County Air Pollution Control D1str1ct eight
thousand seven hundred seventy-eight do]lars

($8 778);

Monterey Bay Un1f1ed Air Po11ut1on Control D1str1ct
gne hundred fifty-three thousand four hundred forty-
eight dollars ($153,448); . :

North Coast Unified Air Pollution Control District:
seventy thousand one hundred s1xty-three dollars
($70,163); |

- Sacramento County Air Pollution Control D1str1ct

twenty-three thousand nine hundred f1fty dollars
($23,950); | -
$an Bernardino County Air Pollution Control
District: three hundred forty-two thousand nine

*hundred eleven dollars ($342,911);

(10)

(11)

San Diego County Air Pollution Contfo] District:
eighty-eight thousand eight hundred two dollars
($88,802); _

San Joaquin County Air Pollution Control District:
forty-nine thousand two hundred ninety-three dollars
($49,293);



(12) San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control
District: one hundred forty-six thousand three
hundred seventy-one dollars ($146,371);

- {13) Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District:

- ~eighteen thousand n1ne hundred e1ghty eight dollars
($18,988); ' o .

(14) Shasta County Air Po]]ut1on Control District:

~seventeen thousand seven hundred F1fty do11ars
($17,750);

- {15) South Coast Air Quality Management D1str1ct seven
hundred eighty-one thousand one hundred eight
dollars ($781,108); _

(16) Stanislaus County Air Pollution Control District:
fourteen thousand five hundred sixty-six”do11ars
($14,566); ‘

(17) Ventura County Air Po11ut1on Control D1str1ct
fifty-seven thousand one hundred five dollars
($57,105). R _

‘(b) Emissions from facilities identified'by the Air Resources
Board on or before November 28, 1990, as having emitted 500
tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or
precursors during the period January 1, 1988, through
December 31, 1988, 'shall be used to determ1ne compliance
with these regulations. .

“{c) In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a
district shall, for any facility identified after November
28, 1990, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of
any nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the
period from January 1, 1988, through December 31, 1988,

“transmit to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution

Control Fund twelve dollars and eighty-nine cents ($12.88})

per ton of such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authority cifedf Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health
and Safety Code. '



90800.2

Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1991-92.

(a)

No later than 180 days after the operative date of this
section, each district identified below shall transmit the

"dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into
 the ‘Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted -

shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment po]]utant or precursors during the
per1od from January 1, 1989, through December 31, 1989,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be eleven dollars and
ninety cents ($11.90) per ton.

(1) "Bay Area Air Quality Management District: eight -
" hundred eleven thousand five hundred seven dollars.
(811,507} _ o
(2) Imperial County Air Pol]ut1on Contro] District:
~ fifteen thousand five dollars (§$15,005);
(3) Kern County Air Pollution Control District (SEDAB):
, seventy thousand four hundred sixty dollars
($70,460);

(4} Monterey Bay Unified A1r Pollution Control District:
one hundred twenty-three thousand seven hundred forty-
nine dollars ($123,749); _

(5) North Coast Unified Air Quality Management District:
sixty-four thousand one hundred ninety-five dollars
($64,195);

.. (6)- Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management

District: sixty-four thousand fifty-twoe dollars
($64,052);

(7) San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control District:
three hundred seventeen thousand seven hundred sixty-
one dollars ($317,761);




(9)

(10)

(b)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

San Diege County Air Pollution Control District:
gighty-eight thousand.seven_hundred eighteen dollars
($88,718);

San Joaquin Val]ey Unified Air Pollution Contro]
District:

Fresno County Zone: seventy—seven thousand one
hundred twenty-nine dollars ($77,129);

Kern'C0unty Zone: four hundred thirty-nine thousand
five hundred seventy-five dollars ($439,575);

Kings County Zone: ten thousand one hundred sixty-two
dollars ($10,162); . S

Madera County Zone: eight thousand eight hundred five
dollars ($8,805); | : - |
San Joaquin County Zone: forty thousand sixteen -
dollars ($40,016);

- Stanislaus County Zone: fourteen thousand_oﬁe hundred

ninety-five dollars ($14,185); ,
San luis 0b1spo County Air Pollution Control D1str1ct"
one hundred twenty-seven thousand one hundred seventyé :
six dollars ($127,176);

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Contro1 District:
twenty-three thousand one hundred twenty dollars
($23,120); ‘

‘Shasta County Air Pollution Control District: seven

thousand nine hundred ninety-six dollars ($7,996);
South Coast Air Quality Management District:

seven hundred forty-three thousand eight hundred
twenty-five dollars ($743,825);

Ventura County Air Pollution Control

District: forty-five thousand four hundred
forty-two dollars ($45,442).

Emissions from facilities identified by the Air Resources
Board on or before April 11, 1991, as having emitted 500
‘tons or more per year of any nonattainment poliutant or
precursors during the period January 1, 1989, through



December 31,'1989, shall beTUSed to.determine compliance
"with these regulations, '

(c) In addition to the amount cited in subsectioh'(a) above, a
| district shall, for any facility identified after April

11, 1991, as having emitted 500 tons.or more per.year‘ of
any nonattainment po11utant'or its precursors during the
period from January 1, 1989, through December 31, 1989,
transmit to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution
Control Fund eleven dollars and ninety cents
($11.90) per ton of such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 33601 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health-
and Safety Code. f : ‘

90800.3 Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1992-93. -

(a) No later than 180 days after the operaf$Ve date'of this
section, each district identified below shall transmit the
dollar amount sﬁecified below to the Board for deposit into
the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted
shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the
period from January 1, 1990, through December 31, 1990,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
‘other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be thirteen dollars

—~-- - -and twenty-nine cents ($13.29) per ton:

(1) Bay Area Air r Quality Management District: eight
hundred eight thousand six hundred fifty-eight dollars
($808,658); '




(2)

3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

)

(8)

(9)

Imperié1 County Air P011utioﬁ Control District:

“twenty-seven thousand twd hundred eighty-seven dollars

{$27,287);
Kern County Air Po]lut1on ControT District (SEDAB)

- ninety- five thousand three hundred s1xty dollars _"

($95,360); :
Monterey Bay Unified Air Po]lut1on Control D1str1ct:_

" one hundred twenty-two thousand sixty-three dollars

($122,063); | A
North Coast Unified Air Quality Management District:
thirty-seven thousand two hundred seventy-eight ‘

~dollars ($37,278);

Sacramento Metropolitan Air Qua11ty Management
District: ~fifty- f1ve thousand one hundred n1neteen
dollars ($55,119); | |

San Bernard1no County Air Pollution Contro] D1str1ct
three hundred th1rty nine thousand e1ghty six dollars.
($339,086);

San Diego County Air Po]]ut10n Control District:
eighty-four thousand e1ght hundred sixty-five dollars
(384, 865),

San Joaqu1n Valley Un1f1ed A1r Pollution Contro]
District: six hundred s1xty thousand five hundred
fifty-seven dollars ($660,557), apportloned as

“follows:

Fresno County Zone: eighty-three thousand nine
hundred twenty-one dollars ($83,921);

Kern County Zone: four hundred ninety-six thousand
eighty-nine dollars ($496,089);

- Kings County Zone: - sixteen thousand- four hundred -

sixty dollars ($16,460); ‘

Madera County Zone: ten thousand eight hundred
ninety-four dollars ($10,894);

San Joaquin County Zone: forty thousand one hundred
thirty-four dollars ($40,134);




(b)

(c)

Safety Code.
and Safety Code,

Stan1s1aus County Zone thirteen thousand fifty-nine
dollars ($13,059); '

(10) San Luis Obispo County Air Po]]utlon Control District:
one hundred. fifteen thousand four hundred seventy~
three dollars ($115,473);

(11} South Coast Air Quality Management District: six
hundred twenty-eight -thousand e1ght hundred six

. dollars ($628, 806)

(12) Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-eight thousand four hundred forty-thrée dollars
($28,443).

Emissions from faci]ities_idenfifiéd by the Air Resources
Board on or before April 9, 1992, as having emitted 500
tons or more per year of any nonattainment pollutant or

~precursors during the period January 1, 1990, through

December 31, 1990, shall be used to determine comp11ance

"with these regu]at1ons

In addition to the amount cited in subsection  (a) above, a =
district shall, for any facility identified after April 9,
1992, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the period
from January 1, 1990, through December 31, 1990, transmit
to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution Contrdl
Fund thirteen dollars and twenty-nine cents ($13.29) per
ton of such polTutant or precursor.

\Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and
"Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health .

Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1993-94.

(a} No later than 180 days after the operative date of this

section, each district identified below shall transmit the
dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into

-10-




the Air Po]]utfon_tohtro] Fund. The amount transmitted
shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of
permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or precursors during the
period from January 1, 1991, through December 31, 1991,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees already authorized to be collected from such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be sixteen dollars
and thirty-nine cents ($16.39) per ton. '

(1) Bay Area Air Qua11ty Management District: nine

- hundred eighty-eight thousand e1ght hundred twenty-one-

- dollars ($988,821); o

(2) Imperial County Air Po?]ut1on Contr01 District:
thirty-three thousand eighty-nine dollars ($33,089);

(3) Kern County Air Pollution Control District (SEDAB):

~ one hundred forty-six thousand s1x hundred eighty
~dollars ($146,680);

(4) Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:
ninety-seven thousand nine hundred seventy-two dollars
($97, 972),

(5) North Coast Unified Air Quality Management District:

~ eight thousand five hundred f1fty five dollars
($8,555);

(6) Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management
District: ninety-seven thousand seven hundred f1fty—
nine dollars ($97,759);

(7) San Bernardino County Air Pollution Control District:
three hundred seventy-three thousand one hundred
“seventy-four dollars ($373,174); |

(8) San Diego County Air Pollution Control District:
ninety-seven thousand six hundred sixty-one dollars
($97,661);

| (9) San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control

District: six hundred twenty thousand four hundred
thirty-two dollars ($620,432);

-11-



Ty - o (10) San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control District:

B one hundred twenty-three thousand three hundred fifty-

. nine dollars {($123,359); -

(11) South Coast Air Quality Management District: six

* hundred thirty-one thousand two hundred dollars

($631,200) ;. | R o |

(12) Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty- ~four thousand eight hundred ninety- five dollars
($24,895). ' '

(b) Emissions from fac111t1es identified by ‘the Aur Resources
Board on or before April 8, 1993, as having emitted 500
tons or more per year of any nonattainment po]?utant or
precursors durxng the per1od January 1, 1991, through
December 31, 1991, shall be used to determine comp11ance
with these regu]at1ons

{c) In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a
- district shall, for any facility. jdentified after April 8,

1993, as hav1ng emitted 500 tons or more per year of any
nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the period
from January 1, 1991, through December 31, 1991, transmit
to the Board for deposit into the Air~Pollution Control
Fund sixteen dollars and thirty-nine cents ($16.39) per ton
of such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and

Safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health
and Safety Code.

-12-




f/i)'  90800.5 Fee Requirements for Fiscal Year 1994-95.

(a)

‘No later than 180 days after the.operative date of this
‘section, each district identified below shall transmit the

dollar amount specified below to the Board for deposit into
the Air Pollution Control Fund. The amount transmitted

~ shall be collected from facilities which are the holders of

permits for sources which emitted 500 tons or mare per year

~of any nonattainment poliutant or precursors during the

period from January 1, 1992, through December 31, 1992,
inclusive. The fees shall be in addition to permit and
other fees| already authorized to be collected from. such
sources. The fee to be charged shall be fifteen dollars
and eighty-three cents (515,83) pér ton. |

'_(1) Bay Area Air Qua11ty Management D1str1ct

_ . nine hundred seventy-four thousand two hundred th1rty—
. one dol]ars ($974,231) 5 : '

{2) Imperial County Air Pollution Control District:
twenty-five thousand seven dollars ($25,007);

(3) Kern County Air Pollution Control District (SEDAB):
orie hundred two thousand eighty-four dollars
- ($102,084);

(4) Mojave Desert Air Quality Manageﬁent District:
three hundred forty-three thousand eight
" hundred seventy-three dollars ($343,873);

(5) Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District:’

one hundred twenty-one thousand three hundred forty-six
dollars ($121,346); |

-13-



(6)'dSacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management
District: forty thousand three hundred fifty-nine
doT]ars'($40,359):

(7) San D1ego County Air Po]lut10n Control District:
eighty-one thousand three- hundred thirty- ~five dollars
($81,335); -

(8) . San Joaquin Valley Un{fied.Air Pollution Control
District: four hundred five thousand ninety-two
dollars ($405,092); '

{9) ,San Luis Obaspo County Air Pollution Control D1str1ct
. one hundred thirteen thousand five hundred ninety
_do11ars ($113, 590)

(10) 5South Coast Air Qua11ty Management District:
- four hundred eighty thousand one dollars (5480 001);

(11) Ventura County Air Pollution Control District:
thirty-one'thousand nine hundred fifty-five dollars
($31,955); '

(12) Amador County Air Pollution Control District,

| ‘Butte County Air Pollution Control District,
Calaveras County Air Pollution Control District,
Colusa County Air Pollution Control District,
E1 Dorado County Air Pollution Centrol District,
Feather River Air Quality Management District,

" “glenn County Air Pollution Control District, =~~~
Great Basin Unified Air Pollution Control District,
Mariposa County Air Pollution Control District,
Mendocino County Air Pollution Control District,
Modoc County Air Poliution Control District,

North Coast Unified Air Quality Management District,
Northern Sierra Air Quality Management District,
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"Northern Sonoma County Air Pollution Control District,
Placer County Air Pollution Controi Distriét, _
‘Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District,
Shasta County Air Quality Management District,
Siskiyou County Air Pollution Control District,
Tehama County Air Pollution Control District,
" Tuolumne County Air Pollution Control District,
Yolo-Solano Air Pollution Control District:
zero dollars ($0).

(b) Emissions from facilities identified by the Air Resources
Board on or before April 14, 1994, as having emitted 500 |
tons or more per year of any_nonattainment'po11ufant or
precursors‘during the period January 1, 1992,‘throdgh -
December 31,‘1992,‘sha11_be used to determine compliance
with these regulations. _Emissions from a facility are
_exc1uded from compliance with these regulations jf the
“emissions from the fati]ity would be subject to these
regulations solely because the facility is in a district
which is designated in section 60201 as not having attained
the state ambient air quality standard for ‘ozone solely as a

- result of ozone trénsport identified in section 70500, Title
17, California Code of Regu]atiohs. '

(¢} In addition to the amount cited in subsection (a) above, a

district shall, for any facility identified after
Apfi1 14, 1994, as having emitted 500 tons or more per year
of any nonattainment pollutant or its precursors during the

- period from January 1, 1992, through December 31, 1992,

" transmit to the Board for deposit into the Air Pollution
Control Fund fifteen dollars and gighty-three cents ($15.83)
per ton of such pollutant or precursor.

NOTE: Authority-cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39512,‘Hea1th and Safety

Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. :
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- 90801. Definitions.

~{a) “FaciTity" means any nonvehicular source which requires a
permit from the district.

(b) "Nonattainment pollutant” means any substance for which an
area has been designated in sections 60200-60209 as not-
having attained a state ambient air quality standard listed
in section 70200, Title 17, Ca1ifornia Code of Regu]ations,
as of July 1 of the fiscal year for wh1ch fees -are be1ng
'co]lected ‘

(c) "Nonattainment precursor" means any substance which reacts in
- the atmosphere to contribute to the product1on of a
nonatta1nment po11utant or po]]utants in an area designated
in sections 60200+ 60209 as not having attained a state
ambient air qua11ty standard Tisted in section 70200, Title
17, Ca11f0rn1a Code of Regu]at1ons, as of July 1 of the
fiscal year for which fees are being collected.
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(d).For the purposes of this regulation, ”nohattainment

pollutants and precursors”

~ Substance -'[
{as listed-in Section 70200, |
Title 17, CCR): |

shall be defined as follows:

nonattainment

pollutant/precursor: = -

Ozone

Sulfur Dioxide
Su]fates.
Nitrogén Diﬁx{de
Carbon Monoxide
Suspeﬁded

Particulate
Matter (PMIO)

" Visibility
Reducing
Particles

Hydrogen Sulfide

Lead

. .reactive organic gases,

oxides of nitrogen
oxides of‘su1fuf

oxides of sulfur

‘oxides .of nitrogen

carbon monoxide

~ suspended particulate -

matter (PMIG)’

~ oxides of nitrogen,

oxides of sulfur
reactive organic gases

suspended particulate

~matter (PMIO)’

oxides of nitrogen,
oxides of sulfur,
reactive organic gases

hydrogen sulfide

lead

e) "Operator" means the person who owns or operates a facility

or part of a facility.
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=, . NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601. and 39612, Health.and
: safety Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and
-Safety Code. ' - ' ' -

90802 . Fee Payment and Co]1ection.

(a) Each district shall notify and assess the operator of each

. facility subject to permit fees, as provided for in these

requlations, in writing of the fee due. The fee shall be

- past due 60 days after receipt by the operator of the fee
assessment notice.. '

(b) Each district shall assess-an additional fee on operators
failing to pay'the_fee within 60 days of receipt of the fee
assessment notice. The district shall set the late fee'in an
amount sufficient to pay the district’s additional expenses
1ncurred by the operator s untimely payment
. {c) Any fees submitted to the state which exceed costs to the
' state of additional state programs authorized or required by
the California Clean Air Act of 1988 related to nonvehicular
sources, shall be carried over by the state for expenditure
for these purposes.

(d) Each district may recover administrative costs to the -
district of collecting the fees pursuant to these
regulations. At the request of the State Board, a district
shall provide to the State Board, within 30 days of the
request, substantiation of -administrative costs.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601 and 39612, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Health and
Safety Code. ' -

-18-



NOTE:

Code.
- Code,

.} 90803,

Failure of Facility to PayrFees.'

In the evént‘any.district is unable to collect the assessed fee
from any source due to'circumstances ‘beyond the control of the
district, 1nc1ud1ng but not limited to fac111ty c1osure, em1ss1on
quant1f1cat1on errors, or refusal of the operator to pay despite |

permit revocation and/or other enforcement action, such district
shall not1fy the Executive Officer of the State Board. For
demonstrated good cause, the district may be relieved from that
portion of the fees the district .is required to coliect and remit
to the state as set forth in section 90800 or section 90800.1 or
section :90800.2 or section 90800.3 or section 90800.4 or sectaon

90800.5. Nothing herein shall relieve the operator from any

obligation to pay any fees assessed pursuant. to this regulation.

Authoritj cited: :Sectibns 39600, 39601 and_39612, Health and Safety
Reference: Sections 39002, 39500, 39600 and 39612, Héa]th and Safety
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