Appendix I

Proposed Amendments to the
Air Toxics “Hot Spots” Fee Regulation
For Fiscal Year 2001-2002

Note: Language to be added is underlined and language to be removed is shown in
strikeout.



PROPOSED REGULATION ORDER

Recommended deletions will be indicated by strikeeut and recommended additions will
be indicated by underlined lettering. Asterisks (****) indicate that a portion of the
regulation is not included in this Appendix.

Amend Sections 90700 — 90704, and Tables 1, 2, 3a, 3b, 3c, and Table 4 and the text
in Section 90705 of title 17, California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

Subchapter 3.6 Air Toxics “Hot Spots” Fee Regulation

Article 1. General

90700. Purpose and Mandate.

(b)

©

*kk%k

Each district with jurisdiction over facilities meeting the criteria set
forth in Section 90702(a) shall annually collect from the operator of
each such facility, and each operator shall pay, fees which shall
provide for the following:

Q) Recovery of anticipated costs to be incurred by the State
Board and the Office to implement and administer the Act,
as set forth in Table 1 of this regulation for fiscal
year 2001-2002, and as determined by the Executive Officer
for subsequent fiscal years, and any costs incurred by the
Office or its independent contractor for review of facility risk
assessments submitted to the State after March 31, 1995
under Health and Safety Code Section 44361(c).

*kkk

Beqinning in fiscal year 2002-2003, the ARB staff will prepare an

annual status report that will summarize the State program costs,
the Board activities supported by the fees, and the district costs.
This report will be sent to the members of the Air Resources Board
and the air pollution control and air quality management districts
and will be made available to the public 90 days after the Executive
Officer has determined the fees for the applicable fiscal year.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, and 44380, Health and Safety Code.
Reference: Sections 44320, 44361, and 44380, Health and Safety Code.
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90701.

Definitions.

(€)

)

(aa)

(ap)

*kkk

“Facility Data List” means a list of facilities, including the information
set forth in Section 90704 (ef)(3).

*kkk

“Risk of 50.0 to Less Than 100.0 Per Million Facility (Simple)”
means a facility that meets the criteria set forth in

Section 90701(rs), and has one or two processes as determined by
six-digit SCC.

*kkk

“Small Business” for the purposes of Section 90704(gh)(2) means a
facility which is independently owned and operated and has met all
of the following criteria in the preceding year: 1) the facility has 10
or fewer (annual full-time equivalence) employees; 2) the facility's
total annual gross receipts are less than $1,000,000; and 3) the
total annual gross receipts of the California operations the facility
is part of are less than $5,000,000. All oil producers in the San
Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District will be judged
by the criteria of San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control
District Rule 2201, subsections 3.29.1 - 3.29.3 (Operative

June 15, 1995) to determine overall facility size and boundaries for
purposes of qualifying as a small business.

*kkk

“Executive Officer” means the Executive Officer of the California Air

(aq)

Resources Board.

“State Facility Fee Rate” means the dollar value of the State fee

assessed for each facility in a particular Facility Program Cateqgory.

*kkk

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 44380, and 44380.5, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 44320, 44344.4, 44380, and 44380.5, Health and Safety

Code.

90702.

(b)

Article 2. Applicability

Facilities Covered.

*kkk

On or before July 1 for fiscal year 2001-2002, and September 1 for
subsequent fiscal years ef-the-applicable-fiscalyear, each district

shall provide to the State Board a list of facilities meeting any one
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(©

(d)

(e)

or more of the criteria specified in subdivision (c) and (d) of this
section. The list of facilities shall include the facility's name,
identification number, and documentation of the exemption or
exemptions any facility qualifies for under this section.

A facility shall be excluded from the calculation of the distribution of
the State's cost specified in Section 90703(a) by July 1 for fiscal
year 2001-2002, and September 1 for subsequent fiscal years of

the-applicable-fiscalyear, if any one or more of the following criteria

is met:

*kkk

For fiscal year 2001-2002, Aa facility shall be excluded from the fee
schedule calculated in accordance with Section 90704(de)-(gh) and
from the fee schedule set forth in Table 3 ferthe-applicablefiscal
year if (1) it qualifies for exclusion pursuant to subdivision (c) of this
section, (2) it is located in a district which has met the requirements
of Section 90704(b) and (3) the district has requested State Board
adoption of a fee schedule. Exclusion from fee schedules under
this subdivision does not exempt a facility from any other applicable
requirement under this title.

Commencing July 1, 2002, a facility shall be excluded from the fee

schedule calculated in accordance with Section 90704(e)-(h) if it
qualifies for exclusion pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section as
of September 1 of the applicable year, and is located in a district
that is recovering district costs pursuant to Section 90704(e)(5).

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 44321, 44344.4, 44344.7, and 44380,
Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 44320, 44321, 44322, 44344.4,
44344.7, and 44380, Health and Safety Code.

90703.

Article 3. Fees

District Board Adoption of Fees.

Except for the districts that have fulfilled all of the requirements specified in Section
90704(b) and (e)(5), every district shall annually adopt a rule or regulation which
recovers the costs specified in 90700(b), unless the district rule or regulation contains a
specific provision for automatic readoption of the rule or regulation annually by

operation of law.

(@)

Except as specified in subdivision (b) of this section, or in Section
90702(c) and (d), the State Board shall calculate each district's
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share of state costs on the basis of the number of facilities in
Facility Program Categories as defined in Sections 90701 (k), (1),

(m), (n), (0), (p), (@), (r), (s), (1), (u), (v), (W), (x), (¥). (2), (ae), (ah),
(ai), (@), (ak), (al), (am), (an), and (ao0).

(1) For the purposes of subdivision (a) of this section, the district
shall set forth the facilities that are in the described program
categories on or before July 1 for fiscal year 2001-2002, and
September 1 for subsequent fiscal years efthe-applicablefiscal
year.

*kkk

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 44321, and 44380, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 44320, 44321, 44322, 44361, and 44380, Health and

Safety Code.

90704.

(@)

(b)

State Board Adoption of Fees.

The State Board shall arrualy adopt a regulation for fiscal year
2001-2002 which meets the requirements of Health and Safety
Code Section 44380(a). Districts whose fee schedules are
included in this regulation under Section 90704(b) are subject to the
provisions of subdivisions (d)-(ij) of this section.

The State Board may annually adopt a fee schedule which
assesses a fee upon the operators of facilities subject to this
regulation, and which identifies and provides for the recovery of
beth state costs for the applicable fiscal year and district costs for
fiscal year 2001-2002 to administer and implement the Act pursuant
to Section 90700(b), for facilities located in districts that have
completed all of the following requirements:

(1)  The district board has approved, and adopted by resolution,
the cost of implementing and administering the Act for the
apphicable fiscal year 2001-2002 as specified in Section
90700(b)(2);

(2)  The district has submitted a written request specifying the
amount to be collected for the-applicable fiscal year 2001-
2002, through fees established by the State Board
regulation, as calculated pursuant to Section
90704(d),(e),(f),(g), and (h), and (i) and including
documentation of the costs;
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(©)

(d)

(3)  Thedistrict has submitted the resolution, request and
documentation specified in subsections (1) and (2) to the
State Board by April 1, 2001.

Any district whose fee schedule is included in this regulation
pursuant to Section 90704(b)(1) - (3) may, as a substitute for this
regulation, adopt a district fee rule for fiscal year 2001-2002 that
meets the requirements of Section 90700(b), provided that the
district informs the Executive Officer of the State Board in writing.

Beginning in fiscal year 2002-2003, the Executive Officer will

(de)

annually develop a fee schedule by applying the applicable State
Facility Fee Rate contained in Table 3, or the $35 flat fee for
Industrywide facilities, to each facility subject to the Fee Regulation
in the Facility Data List provided by the districts pursuant to Section
90702, which meets the requirements of Health and Safety Code
Section 44380(a). Districts whose fee schedules are included in
this regulation under Section 90704(e)(5) are subject to the
provisions (d)-(i) of this section.

Calculation of Fees.

Q) The State Board shall establish the fee applicable to each
facility for the recovery of state and district costs and shall
notify each district in writing each-year of the amount to be
collected from each facility and of the amount of revenue
which the district must remit to the State Board for
reimbursement of state costs, as set forth in Table 1. When
calculating the fees, the State Board shall use the State
costs in Table 1 and the district costs in Table 2 for fiscal
year 2001-2002, and shall take into account and allow for
the unanticipated closing of businesses, nonpayment of
fees, and other circumstances which would result in a
shortfall in anticipated revenue.

(2) Beginning in fiscal year 2002-2003, the Executive Officer will
annually develop a fee schedule by applying the applicable
State Facility Fee Rate contained in Table 3, or the $35 flat
fee for Industrywide facilities, to each facility subject to the
Fee Requlation in the Facility Data List provided by the
districts pursuant to Section 90702, and shall notify each
district in writing of the amount to be collected from each
facility and the amount of revenue which the district must
remit to the State Board for reimbursement of the State
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(23)

(4)

costs. When calculating the fees, the Executive Officer shall
take into account and allow for the small business cap of
$300, unanticipated closing of businesses, nonpayment of
fees, and other circumstances which would result in a
shortfall in anticipated revenue.

The State Board shall calculate fees on the basis of the
Facility Data List as set forth by the district by July 1 efthe
applicablefiscalyear for fiscal year 2001-2002, except for
facilities excluded under Section 90702(c) or covered by
Section 90704(fg) and (gh). For purposes of calculation of a
district's share of State costs under this subdivision and
under Section 90703(a), the number of State Industrywide
facilities shall be used instead of the number of Industrywide
facilities. Facilities that meet the Industrywide Facility
definition but do not meet the State Industrywide Facility
definition shall be placed in the appropriate Facility Program
Category for purposes of calculation of a district's share of
the State's costs. Districts may still assess facilities that
meet the Industrywide definition but not the State
Industrywide definition the fees listed in Table 4 for fiscal
year 2001-2002.

Beqginning in fiscal year 2002-2003, the Executive Officer

(5)

shall make an annual determination of the fees on the basis
of the Facility Data List set forth by the district by September
1 of the applicable fiscal year, except for facilities excluded
under Section 90702(c) or covered by Section 90704(q) and
(h). For purposes of calculation of a district's share of State
costs under this subdivision and under Section 90703(a), the
number of State Industrywide facilities shall be used instead
of the number of Industrywide facilities. Facilities that meet
the Industrywide Facility definition but do not meet the State
Industrywide Facility definition shall be placed in the
appropriate Facility Program Category for purposes of
calculation of a district's share of the State's costs.

Beqinning in fiscal year 2002-2003 and for subsequent fiscal

years, districts that do not have a locally adopted fee
regulation are authorized to collect fees to recover local
program costs up to, but not to exceed, the amount of the
State Facility Fee Rate on a per-facility basis. Districts
making use of this provision shall provide a summary of the
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(6)

district program costs to ARB by September 1 of the
applicable fiscal year.

No later than December 1 of the applicable fiscal year,

beginning in December of fiscal year 2002-2003, the
Executive Officer shall make a final determination of the
State Program fee amounts and the apportionment of those
amounts to the districts, as calculated based on the State
Facility Fee Rate and Facility Data List.

(ef) Fees Based on Facility Program Category.

(1)

©)

The State Board shall provide a flat fee per facility based on
the facility program category of the facility as set forth in the
State Facility Fee Rate in Tables 3 for all applicable fiscal
years, and Table 4 for fiscal year 2001-2002. For fiscal year
2002-2003 and beyond, the fee for the Industrywide
category shall be $35. The Facility Program Categories for
Table 3 are Prioritization Score Greater Than Ten (10.0)
(Complex); Prioritization Score Greater Ten (10.0) (Medium);
Prioritization Score Greater Than Ten (10.0) (Simple); Risk
of 10.0 to Less Than 50.0 Per Million (Complex); Risk of
10.0 to Less Than 50.0 Per Million (Medium); Risk of 10.0 to
Less Than 50.0 Per Million (Simple); Risk of 50.0 to Less
Than 100.0 Per Million (Complex); Risk of 50.0 to Less Than
100.0 Per Million (Medium); Risk of 50.0 to Less Than 100.0
Per Million (Simple); Risk of 100.0 Per Million, or Greater
(Complex); Risk of 100.0 Per Million, or Greater (Medium);
Risk of 100.0 Per Million, or Greater (Simple); Tracking
(Complex); Tracking (Medium); Tracking (Simple);
Unprioritized (Complex); Unprioritized (Medium); and
Unprioritized (Simple). The Facility Program Category for
Table 4 is State Industrywide.

*kkk

A district shall provide to the State Board, by July 1, 2001,
and for subsequent fiscal years by September 1 of the
applicable fiscal year, a Facility Data List. The Facility Data
List shall contain the following information: (a) the district
abbreviation, (b) the county ID, (c) the name and facility
identification number, (d) the Standard Industrial
Classification Code of the facility, (e) the number of Source
Classification Codes, (f) complexity (Simple, Medium,
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(fa)

(gh)

Complex), (g) prioritization score, (h) health risk assessment
results, (i) whether or not the health risk assessment has
been reviewed by OEHHA, (j) whether or not a screening
risk assessment was performed, (k) reason excluded from
calculation of the State’s cost under the previously
applicable fiscal year’'s Air Toxics “Hot Spots” Fee
Regulation, (I) whether or not the facility is a state
industrywide facility, (m) whether or not the facility is a small
business as defined under Section 90701 (aa), (n) whether
or not the facility is an District Update Facility as defined
under Section 90701 (c), and (o) former Facility Program
Category for the previously applicable fiscal year. The
district shall provide the SIC Code for facilities being added
to the State Industrywide Facility category.

Specified Flat Fees.

1)

()

An Industrywide Facility shall be assessed the flat fee
specified in Table 4 for fiscal year 2001-2002, and $35 per
Industrywide facility for subsequent fiscal years. If a facility
was previously assessed, and has paid, a fee pursuant to
the Facility Program Categories specified for Table 4,
subsequent fees pursuant to Table 4 shall be waived by the
district, if the district determines that there are insignificant
costs with respect to said facility under the Act.

A facility in the State Industrywide Facility Program
Category, as defined by Section 90701(ae), shall be
assessed the flat fee specified in Table 4 for fiscal year
2001-2002, and $35 per industrywide facility for subsequent

fiscal years.

Other Flat Fees.

(1)

()

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 44380.5 of the Health
and Safety Code, the supplemental fee which may be
assessed upon the operator of a facility, to cover the direct
costs to the district to review the information supplied, shall
be no higher than $2,000.

The maximum fee that a small business, as defined in
Section 90701 (aa), shall pay will be $300.
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(ki)

3 If in the judgment of a district the action will not result in a
shortfall in revenue, a district may request the fee for the
Unprioritized (Simple) category be set at no more than $800.

4) Pursuant to the provisions of Section 44344.4(b) of the
Health and Safety Code, the operator of an Update Facility
may be assessed a fee of no higher than $125 to cover the
direct cost to the district to review the facility’s quadrennial
emission inventory update submitted under Health and
Safety Code Section 44344. Beginning with Fiscal Year
1997-98, a district may assess a higher fee to review
guadrennial emission inventory updates if it adopts written
findings that the costs of processing the emission inventory
update exceed $125 and submits those findings to the State
Board by Apri- June 30 preceding the applicable fiscal
year. The fee adopted shall be no higher than that supported
by the written findings.

For fiscal year 2001-2002, Gcosts to be recovered by the regulation
adopted by the State Board pursuant to subdivision (b) of this
section shall be calculated as follows: Each district board shall
approve its anticipated costs to implement and administer the Act.
The Air Resources Board will subtract from this amount anticipated
revenues from collection of the flat fee specified in Section
90704(fg); and any excess revenues obtained by the district
pursuant to Section 90705(c). When submitting board-approved
program costs to the State Board, the district shall include a
breakdown of how the collected fees will be used.

Districts shall reimburse the State in accordance with Health and
Safety Code Section 44361(c) for review of facility risk
assessments submitted to the State after March 31, 1995.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 44344.4, and 44380, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 44320, 44322, 44344.4, 44361, 44380, and 44380.5,
Health and Safety Code.

90705.

(@)

Fee Payment and Collection.

Each district shall notify and assess the operator of each facility
subject to this regulation in writing of the fee due. Except as
provided in Sections 90702(c) and (d), 90703, 90704(4g), and
90704(gh), each district shall use the facility program category as
the basis for billing. The operator shall remit the fee to the district
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within 60 days after the receipt of the fee assessment notice or the
fee will be considered past due. If an operator fails to pay the fee
within 60 days of this notice, the district shall assess a penalty of
not more than 100 percent of the assessed fee, but in an amount
sufficient, in the district's determination, to pay the district's
additional expenses incurred by the operator's non-compliance. If
an operator fails to pay the fee within 120 days after receipt of this
notice, the district may initiate permit revocation proceedings. If
any permit is revoked it shall be reinstated only upon full payment
of the overdue fee plus any late penalty, and a reinstatement fee to
cover administrative costs of reinstating the permit.

*kkk

(d) If a district does not collect sufficient revenues to cover boeth-the-
districtprogram-costs-and the portion of the state costs that the
district is required to remit to the State Board for a particular fiscal
year due to circumstances beyond the control of the district, the
district shall notify the Executive Officer of the State Board prior to
Apri-E June 30 of the year following the applicable fiscal year and
may for demonstrated good cause be relieved by the Executive
Officer from an appropriate portion of the fees the district is
required to collect and remit to the state.

Circumstances beyond the control of the district may include but
are not limited to plant closure or refusal of the facility operator to
pay despite permit revocation or other enforcement action.
Documentation of the circumstances resulting in the shortfall shall
be submitted to the ARB upon request. Nothing herein shall relieve
the operator from any obligation to pay any fees assessed pursuant
to this regulation.

(1)  Adistrict for which the State Board has adopted a fee
schedule pursuant to Section 90704(b) in fiscal
year 2001-2002, or Section 90704(d) in subsequent years,
may, upon notifying the Executive Officer of the State Board,
carry over all or a portion of such shortfall in revenue from
one to four fiscal years after the shortfall was discovered and
add the shortfall amount to its program costs for each such
subsequent fiscal year.

Notes: Authority cited: Sections 39600, 39601, and 44380, Health and Safety Code.
Reference: Section 44380, Health and Safety Code.
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Table 1

Revenues to be Remitted to Cover State Costs By Districts

District

Amador
Antelope Valley
Bay Area

Butte

Calaveras
Colusa

El Dorado

Feather River
Glenn

Great Basin
Imperial

Kern

Lake

Lassen
Mariposa
Mendocino
Modoc

Mojave Desert
Monterey

North Coast
Northern Sierra
Northern Sonoma
Placer
Sacramento
San Diego

San Joaquin Valley
San Luis Obispo
Santa Barbara
Shasta

Siskiyou

South Coast
Tehama
Tuolumne
Ventura
Yolo-Solano

TOTAL

1-11

Revenues
to be Remitted

105
8,248



Table 2

District Costs to be Recovered Through the Fee Regulation

Anticipated

District District Costs*
Antelope Valley 13,340 12,570
Great Basin 5520 3,570
tmperial 79

Lassen 2089 2,489
Mojave Desert 35435 31,985
Santa Barbara 50,000
TOTAL 106,854 $100,614

* These amounts may reflect adjustments for excess or insufficient revenues
under sections 90705 (c) and (d)(1).
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Table 3a
Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

Unprioritized  Unprioritized Unprioritized Tracking Tracking Tracking
District (Simple) (Medium) (Complex) (Simple) (Medium) (Complex)
State Pertion 402 603 804 67 100 134

Of Facility Fee Rate

Total Fee
(State Portion + District Portion)

Antelope Valley

Great Basin 1,043 780 1565 1,170 2086 1,560

Imperial 88

Lassen

Mojave Desert 800 4294 4,143 477 472 15 708 954 944
Santa Barbara 396 545 594 818 792 1,091
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Table 3b
Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

Risk Risk Risk

Score >10 Score >10 Score >10 >=10<50 >=10<50 >=10 <50
District (Simple) (Medium) (Complex) (Simple) (Medium) (Complex)
State Pertion 1,674 2,009 2,344 3,014 3,349 3,684
Of Facility Fee Rate
Total Fee
(State Portion + District Portion)
Antelope Valley +832 7,113 11060 10,150
Great Basin 3170 2,555
Lassen 5,348 4,498
Mojave Desert 10430 10,428 13476 11,157
Santa Barbara 8,607 9,902 9271 10,642 9,035 11,382
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Table 3c

Cost per Facility by District and Facility Program Category

Risk Risk Risk Risk Risk Risk
>=50 <100 >=50<100 >=50<100 >=100 >=100 > =100
District (Simple) (Medium)  (Complex) (Simple) (Medium) (Complex)
State Peortion 4,353 4,688 5,023 5,693 6,028 6,363
Of Facility Fee Rate
Total Fee
(State Portion + District Portion)
Antelope Valley
Great Basin
Imperial
Lassen
Mojave Desert 14.045 13,676
Santa Barbara 11597 10,107
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Table 4*

Fees for Industrywide and District Update Facilities

Industrywide District Update

District Facilities Facilities
Antelope Valley 0 125
Great Basin 60 25 125 250
Imperial 35 38.50
Lassen 0 0
Mojave Desert 0 125
Santa Barbara 9560 125

*  State cost per facility is consistent statewide as follows:
State Industrywide facilities: $35
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